Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
These were awesome!! As some reviewers suggested, I did use Ritz instead of saltines. They were just like the local restaurant makes. I also recommend making the Remoulade Sauce a la New Orleans from this site to go with it. To die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAWVU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I loved this!! I had never had fried green tomatos before, but we will definiately make again. The only change I made was that I was out of bread crumbs, so I used stuffing mix that I crushed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guide Rock, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
These were perfect! I love fried green tomatoes but have had trouble in the past with them. I tried this recipe and one that called for cornmeal and this one is much better! The cornmeal was too gritty. These came out crispy and delicious. I did use lemon pepper I found in another recipe and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I gave this 3 stars because the butter burns and there's not enough seasoning. Good basic recipe if you add your own touches to it. I use half canola oil/half bacon grease. You really can't beat the flavor that bacon grease gives the toms. Also I dip the toms in seasoned flour(to make the coating stick to the toms),then egg, and then your favorite cracker crumbs. If you mix the cracker crumbs with the flour (like others suggest) you just don't get enough cracker. I agree with adding a pinch of garlic powder, onion powder and cayenne. I served it with Burgerville special sauce (known to you great Northwesterners!) It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Show Low, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
These are really good and easy to make! Even my children, who resisted trying them loved them. Not a healthy dish, but certainly yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Loved these! I used vegetable oil, as it doesn't seem to burn as easily as olive oil (which I usually use).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I have been frying my pork chops like this for years, but never thought of applying that same method to fried green tomatoes before. I'm glad that I came across this recipe - it will be the way that I fry my green tomatoes from now on. It is even better when served along side Chipotle Mayo also from this site. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staley, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
DELICIOUS! Wasn't sure I would like these from the first bite, but ended up eating 3! I scaled the recipe to 3, used 2 small to medium sized tomatoes (the first ones from my garden this year)! I did not have saltine crackers so I used multi-grain club crackers. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
These are yummy! You could use red tomatoes as long as they are very firm if you can't find green. I would suggest using small amounts of butter for each batch so the first batch doesn't soak up all the butter. These are yummy and I'll be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
These were good, but I would personally prefer a little more seasoning "flavor" in mine. They were a good, basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homeward Hearts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States