Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Breading was a little to thick for me. Would not use crackers next time. They came out nice and crunchy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I joined allrecipes.com specifically to review this recipe! Checked around on some other recipes that called for the traditional flour/breadcrumb/etc. mix, then decided to try this one. WOW!!! All I can say is, I was impressed. The trick of dipping them last in crushed saltine crackers is genius...they were so yummy and crunchy! I just used plain ol' oil to fry them in since I don't like to use so much butter and it was just fine. Also, we'd let our green tomatoes ripen so they were actually red, but they were still amazing! Great recipe, I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I tried these and first off, I would like to say 1/2 inch is too thick. Slicing them thinner is better. Also, the saltines should not only be crushed, but they need to be crushed down to almost powder. Otherwise the skin falls off because it's too chunky. Also, make sure your green tomatoes have a little "give" to them. Firmer tomatoes will just come out crunchy (which you don't want with FGT). Overall they were not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I did this recipes with a mixture of panco and bread crumbs in stead of the saltine crackers and slice them a little thinner than a half inch. First time cooking fried green tomatos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jadedgurl
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This were delicious...reminded me of my Grandma's recipe. We will definetely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadedgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Just cooked up fried green tomatoes. These were great on a BLT. This was my first attempt at fried green tomatoes and I was pleased with both the ease and taste of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I've tried FGT befor and didnt like em now I know why they should be called Fried Almost green tomatoes. the ones I fried befor were really green. This recipe was wonderfull. I loved em and so dod my BF. Just make sure you get a firm but ripening tomatoe. They taste much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Bartlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swannanoa, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Wonderful simple recipe and they turned out perfect. Ty for this great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I liked the coating...just not the green tomatoes. Never had them before...just not for me. I would use this coating on other veggies though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Pretty good but the flour mixture could have used some more seasoning. Garlic powder, onion powder, or even some parsley. Good basic recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States