Fried Green Tomatoes with Shrimp Remoulade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This was not only my first time making fried green tomatoes, but also my first time eating them, so my first impression of the fried tomatoes themselves was that they needed some seasoning in the cornmeal. That thought flew out the window when I tasted them with the (mayonnaise-free, THANK YOU!) remoulade! Wow! What a great combination of flavors - this sauce is totally addicting, and perfectly suited for fried green tomatoes. I cannot wait to have the opportunity to serve this to guests. It looks and tastes delicious, and was actually quite easy to prepare. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Anyone can fry great green tomatos, but the Remoulade sauce takes this dish to a whole new level. This is really good, and do yourself a favor, follow the recipe, don't deviate or mess around. When something works this good, don't fix it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I live in New Orleans and took this recipe to Grand Isle with me this weekend. I bought shrimp (right off the shrimp boat) and took fresh green tomatoes from my Mom's garden. I made this to go with the boiled crabs we caught early in the morning. Everyone raved over it! And believe me, those Cajuns know good food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvdemsaints

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
i REALLY liked this tho i didn't have creole mustard and scaled it down for 2...i will be very happy to make this again...thanks for the recipe...i wish i could have shared it with someone...i was impressed with the results ... it seemed very impressive...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This recipe is AMAZING! A green tomato is hard to find so I used half green tomatoes. I use light cream because I didn't have milk, regular mustard, and used corn muffin mix cause I didn't have cornmeal. The Remoulade is outstanding and I am not even a mustard fan! I ate this up, I only wish my camera was working cause it is sooo appetizing. A must make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I didn't have salad greens and I used regular milk over buttermilk (personal preference) and this turned out wonderful! This is one I will make time and time again. If you cannot find creole mustard, you can just use any type of mustard with a couple dashes of cayenne pepper hot pepper sauce. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Thanks so much for this recipe. I use the same ingredients but never bothered to measure, just eyeballed it. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ghc630

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Metairie, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I thought the amount of mustard overwhelmed the other remoulade ingredients but overall tasty and a nice topper for the fried green tomatoes. I will make again but reduce the amount of mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Unbelievable~!!!! The shrimp remoulade made this so amazing. Definately to next level. Can't wait for my spring tomatoes so I can share this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I only used the remoulade from this recipe bc I found it after I was already making another fgt recipe. I hadn't ever had it before and I will now be making this for any dish possible. SO DELICIOUS! I had to sub a few things I had on hand for items I didn't have, but it still turned out well. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tifferlopez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Chef John’s Fried Padrón Peppers

See how incredibly easy it is to make these tasty blistered peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States