Fried Green Tomatoes with Shrimp Remoulade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I love the cuisine of N.O., but I can't say this is the "only" way to enjoy fried green tomatoes. I also love them completely by themselves if made with a coating of cornmeal and flour (no batter); with a dollop of tomato gravy; or with a sour cream/mayo dressing. I also prefer to use peanut oil as the smoke point is higher so that tomatoes can get crisp without absorbing as much fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This was a big hit on New Year's Eve. Could not find green tomatotes so I substutited with tomatillos. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Love this recipe. The only change I made, because I didn't have Creole Mustard, was to use Dijon. Can't wait until next summer when I have green tomatoes again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This was outstanding! Everything about this recipe works and works well. The Remoulade is delicious on both the shrimp and the green tomatoes. If you want a dish that is sure to impress but not overly complicated to make, this is the one you need. Thanks for sharing! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I thought the amount of mustard overwhelmed the other remoulade ingredients but overall tasty and a nice topper for the fried green tomatoes. I will make again but reduce the amount of mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This recipe is AMAZING! A green tomato is hard to find so I used half green tomatoes. I use light cream because I didn't have milk, regular mustard, and used corn muffin mix cause I didn't have cornmeal. The Remoulade is outstanding and I am not even a mustard fan! I ate this up, I only wish my camera was working cause it is sooo appetizing. A must make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I didn't have salad greens and I used regular milk over buttermilk (personal preference) and this turned out wonderful! This is one I will make time and time again. If you cannot find creole mustard, you can just use any type of mustard with a couple dashes of cayenne pepper hot pepper sauce. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Unbelievable~!!!! The shrimp remoulade made this so amazing. Definately to next level. Can't wait for my spring tomatoes so I can share this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I only used the remoulade from this recipe bc I found it after I was already making another fgt recipe. I hadn't ever had it before and I will now be making this for any dish possible. SO DELICIOUS! I had to sub a few things I had on hand for items I didn't have, but it still turned out well. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tifferlopez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I live in New Orleans and took this recipe to Grand Isle with me this weekend. I bought shrimp (right off the shrimp boat) and took fresh green tomatoes from my Mom's garden. I made this to go with the boiled crabs we caught early in the morning. Everyone raved over it! And believe me, those Cajuns know good food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvdemsaints

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Chef John’s Fried Padrón Peppers

See how incredibly easy it is to make these tasty blistered peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States