Fried Green Tomatoes III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
on our farm in nys all through my childhood this is THE recipe we used. it's cheap, delicious,and with a garden that produces enough veggies for ma to can 400 quarts of veggies each year to feed 8 through the winter months, tomatoes were abundent. the only thing i do differently is fry them until they are really browned on each side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belvidere, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
very easy and tasty! my husband and i made these for the first time ever tonight, and they turned out great; crispy and tender. we salted and peppered them as they were draining on a thick layer of paper towels. yields a heckuva lot of FGT, so make sure you've got a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faeriecat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
This is the way my Mother always did Green Tomatoes . Very good. We also in the fall what tomatoes didn't rippen we slice them place the slices on a tray and freeze, then put in ziplog bag.When you want to eat them Dip , Coat with flour, season to taste , and fry. Yum Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Excellent recipe! I added the hot sauce to the egg and it turned out great. Some of the best I have ever cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
This is exactly the way my Grandmother and Mother have always done them and we could never get enough. Thanks for sharing a great recipe. I love these! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
My family loves this recipe. its easy and quick and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This was a great recipe! They taste just like my mother's. I live alone so I only used one tomato and cut the other ingredients in half for a single's dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
HATE CORNMEAL AND CRACKER BREADING ON TOMATOES, THIS IS THE BEST WAY TO EAT THEM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tashaboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
These were perfect for my green tomatoes that fell of the plant. I used egg beaters instead of the eggs and fried in canola oil. Very yummy and the tart flavor is perfect. Thank you for this method and ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
So good. This is an examle of how simple is sometimes perfect! Easiest recipe ever. I added a shake of red pepper flakes and cooked way longer than two minutes. I like them a dark golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States