Fried Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by A cook in Houston
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
These are pretty good. I love lemon, but I still left out the zest. I used about six cups of green beans and they were still a little greasy for me. I make what we call green fries which is very similar to this. I use uncut long green beans, placed in a baking dish single layer then sprayed with olive oil cooking spray and sprinkled with course ground salt and fresh cracked black pepper. Then I bake them at 400 for about 20 min. As I remove them from the oven I squeeze fresh lemon over the green beans and toss. This is still a good recipe for a change up every now and then. Green beans are my favorite vege (I could eat them every day), so its great to have a bunch of recipes for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
I really enjoyed this recipe. If you don't like lemon, like rest of my strange family then I don't recommend it. The lemon comes off more strongly than one would expect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
I must agree with those who found the lemon a little overpowering, but can be tolerated if using a smaller amount. I first had a recipe similar to this when visiting Spain. The quality of the olive oil and lemon is what makes this a delightful side dish. Some lemons are more bitter than others and nothing can replace good olive oil which can be expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
Don't get me wrong, this recipe is FABULOUS, but I happen to be a very strong advocate of Lemon. I'm just afraid if you're not as fond of lemons, you may not find this appealing:). It ROCKS for me though:).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Grimes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This was a very easy recipe. I added about 2 tablespoons white wine and 1/2 tsp chopped garlic. I served it with Salmon w/lemon, basil cream sauce from this site and white rice. At first I thought that it would be too much lemon, but it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea  Alexander

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redlands, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
This had way too much lemon even while omitting the lemon zest. I'm giving this a 4 though because I'll be keeping this recipe but decreasing the lemon just a bit. Also I thought there was a bit too much oil used, I had to drain the beans afterwards. But overall a good twist to an ordinary vegetable. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I leave out all the lemon and ad fresh garlic. I also use about the same amount of butter as oil. Everyone loved it, the time is right. I also used fresh cracked black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coffeen, Illinois, USA
Living In: Athens, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Green beans can be so boring and this recipe gives them such a nice flavor. I sprinkled a liberal dose of sesame seeds over top when I was finished sauteeing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Quick and easy to prepare. I used haricourt verts (thin French green beans). Adjusted the seasonings a bit for personal preference. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Great receipes that got my veggie hating partner to eat veggies. I did not have lemons so I used freash limes and instead of garlic salt i used a few cloves of minced garlic at the olive oil step. I also followed the advice of a reviewer andtopped the green beans with toasted seasame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States