Fried Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2007
This is the real thing! Empanadas Chilenas, I love them. The only thing I did different was: brushed the empanadas with eggwhites diluted in water and I baked them, 350º for 15 to 20 minutes, until golden brown. They were great! Healthy version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
The crust is the bomb! Hot Pockets aint got nothing on this! I'm mexican, so i had to spice up the flavor to make them like grandma's. Additing chorizo is a must! Though, before I cooked the meat, I diced two russet potatoes into very small pieces and cooked them with the onion, olive oil, and plenty of fresh crushed black pepper and garlic salt. Once the potatoes were crispy and the onion tender, I stirred in the meat, and shortly after a whole link of chorizo. I also added some hot chili powder and oregano. If I really had wanted to follow grandma's recipe, I would have used finely chopped top sirloin instead of the frozen pre-ground variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Oh, my God! I'm Chilean. Empanadas, are among my favorite traditional food. Chilean empanadas are unique in texture and taste. This recipe is great! You can also substitute the meat filling ("el pino") for Mozarella cheese, poultry, or seafood. When you use cheese, don't use any of the ingredients for the meat one, just the cheese! Sparkle confectioner sugar on the top of the fried cheese empanada before serving. This recipe should've been called "Fried Meat Empanadas" (Empanadas Fritas de Pino). "Pino" is what we call the mix of all the ingredients in the meat. For all empanadas, slide ur clean, wet index finger on the edge of the dough before folding and cooking. This prevents the filling from dripping or falling out while fryng the empanada. Poke the top of the dough with a fork about 3 times before frying so air can exit and prevent dough for exploding while frying. Look for the recipes for all of them and try them. You and ur family will just love them all! Your guests will love them, too. Make at least a dozen of them for a family of three or four. For parties, make sure you make at least 2 per guest. Cook time is less than 5 minutes. Two or three minutes of deep fry should be enough. IMPORTANT: Pls, don't use supermarket dough. The dough recipe is as important as the filling to taste the true Chilean empanadas. Add spices to the filling as per your taste. Don't substitute anything! Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
i LOVED these. our fryer doesn't work anymore so i just baked them in a 400 degree oven [coating it with a little bit of olive oil]. my whole family thought they were great. the empanadas were VERY filling but they were so good, they were all gone the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Sebring, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This is the only empanada recipe that I've tried and I see no reason to look further! So good that my family can hardly wait for them to cool. I think the raisins add such great flavor - I like to chop them up. This is going into my recipe box. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYFAE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
this is just like the Chilean empanadas that my grandma just to make. No one understands empanadas until they have one of these little pies filled with goodness. Great! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3RDTIMESACHARM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
This dough is on point! I was in La Serena, Chile earlier in the year and dined on Empanada Carisco; the best I've ever had. This dough is just as flaky and crispy. I made my own filling: 4 chorizo sausages (shredded, sans wrapping), half block of shredded mozarella, garlic, and leftover mexican cheddar. This is so good, I'm gonna make this for my Chilean friends at our next luau!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Even if you choose not to use the filling part of this recipe, you MUST try making this dough! It was incredible. I halved the dough for a pound of chicken and first of all, I have to say that I was nervous about it being messy and sticky and difficult to handle - nope! It yielded 8 large empanadas and one small one, with a lot less fuss than I thought (I rolled my circles out to be about 6 inches in diameter and they have to be THIN). Let me also say that it fries up flaky and perfect - just make sure your oil is hot before you slide these in. I tried these with chicken as follows: I sauteed half of a chopped onion in some olive oil and added a pound of cubed chicken breast. Added about 1 tsp. chili powder, 3/4 tsp. salt, 1 tsp. cumin powder, 1 tsp. paprika, 1/4 tsp. ground black pepper. I covered this and let it cook on medium heat, stirring occasionally. When the chicken was cooked through I let it cool (omitted the raisins and vinegar) and added half a cup of chopped orange bell pepper and a tablespoon of chopped cilantro. Shredded the chicken into smaller pieces and divided into two portions; added habanero cheese to one and left the other as is. Used this to stuff the empanadas, and they were fantastic! We liked both versions, with and without the cheese. Good with sour cream or chimichurri sauce. Thanks for a great recipe and for taking away my apprehension about making these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
These were great!!!! I did change the recipe a little. I didn't add hard boiled eggs or the raisins. I did add cheese. They were great just like the ones you would get at your favorite Mexican restaurant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
these turned out great. My chilean grandmother would be proud :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States