Fried Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
It got so many good reviews I thought I'd give it a try. It was bland, greasy and extremely disappointing. I hate wasting food but we tossed these and ended up eating a frozen pizza for dinner instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdamsMom

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
These are really good... one of the nice things is that you can change the filling. You really could put just about anything in them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Fruita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
EASY TO MAKE AND SOOOOOOO GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Comerio P.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glen Spey, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I should have expected that these would be so fatty when frying. There was just too much dough and it was so greasy. Next time I will bake, definitely. We could only eat one each. Besides this, you really need to add more fillings. We used spicy sausage, egg, red meat, cheese, onion, and mixed it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oak Hill, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
These are yummy! I added onion to it as well. My only complaint is that I can't make them fast enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This recipe is so yummy! It tastes just like the authintic Chilean Empanadas. I did add a tablespoon of chilean oregano and 2 cloves of chopped garlic. I also baked it instead of frying it. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. I'll definately use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
The crust is the bomb! Hot Pockets aint got nothing on this! I'm mexican, so i had to spice up the flavor to make them like grandma's. Additing chorizo is a must! Though, before I cooked the meat, I diced two russet potatoes into very small pieces and cooked them with the onion, olive oil, and plenty of fresh crushed black pepper and garlic salt. Once the potatoes were crispy and the onion tender, I stirred in the meat, and shortly after a whole link of chorizo. I also added some hot chili powder and oregano. If I really had wanted to follow grandma's recipe, I would have used finely chopped top sirloin instead of the frozen pre-ground variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
SO BLAND. I added more salt and spices and still bland. added cayenne to the recipe, got spice but still bland. Added cream cheese that made it edible. will never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
From what Ive tasted of Empanadas from various countries this tastes like a flavorless Mexican version. Needs much more salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kreativess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
it was good but.. i didn't know what happened to mine, but the crust was so hard when i baked it.. next time, i think i'll try frying it. good recipe though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States