Fried Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Great basic recipe, but keep in mind the ingredients are all pretty mild. A pinch of salt is a little too little for our taste. Spiced up to personal taste and these are yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuliaLC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estell Manor, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brigantine, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Recipe is great. To save time on the dough, I used frozen Goya Discs. Thaw them and add the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This was my first time making or even eating empanadas. I was apprehensive at first because of the ingredients (eggs? raisins? vinegar?!) but pleasantly surprised by the results. The dough was easy to work with following refrigeration. I also baked mine vs. frying. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
These were so good, and a big hit with everyone at my dinner party. I followed the recipe, but left out the eggs and used refrigerated dough. I fried them in an electric skillet because I don't have a deep fryer. The flavor was wonderful, it sounds like a strange combo; beef, paprika & cumin with raisins, but they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
DA BOMB! Upped the cumin and paprika and added a few pats of butter and a little more salt to the dough. I questioned the raisins and egg, but they are delicious! The raisins add just a hint of sweetness to cut through the richness. I also made some empanadas with just meat & cheese. Hubby loved those!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
They tasted great, i didnt make them with ground beef, but only cheese. The dough was a little hard to get it "just right" but at the end they tasted awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yommi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Dunnellon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
It got so many good reviews I thought I'd give it a try. It was bland, greasy and extremely disappointing. I hate wasting food but we tossed these and ended up eating a frozen pizza for dinner instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdamsMom

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
These are really good... one of the nice things is that you can change the filling. You really could put just about anything in them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Fruita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
EASY TO MAKE AND SOOOOOOO GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Comerio P.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glen Spey, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I should have expected that these would be so fatty when frying. There was just too much dough and it was so greasy. Next time I will bake, definitely. We could only eat one each. Besides this, you really need to add more fillings. We used spicy sausage, egg, red meat, cheese, onion, and mixed it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oak Hill, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States