Fried Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Very good! The dough was tuff to roll out. I tried half of the batch in the oven for 400 degrees per the other reviews, I didn't care for it too much. The other half I fried and it was way better!! Definitely fried is better, the dough was so much softer and flaky than when it was baked. I did my own filling, I used ground beef and added chorizo. I also added small cubes of potatoe and minced garlic and a fresh jalepeno with the onion. I used Goya seasoning, salt, pepper, cumin, oregano, and crushed red pepper and tomatoe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I loved this recipe! I left out the eggs, but I thought it was delicious without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This was not good at all. The dough remained "doughy" no matter how long I fried it. The outside would be brown & inside would be doughy. We also had to find something else for dinner since it was basically burnt raw dough. I hate throwing food away so thank goodness I only made a few before I quit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayaquice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
We both liked this recipe. She declared it a keeper. I cheated by using the pre-made Goya empanada wrapper, they are located in your grocers freezer section. Just defrost and roll out abit with a rolling pin and add this filling, easy. Now about the two ingredients everyone comments on, eggs and raisins. I liked both, but I wouldn't go to the trouble to boil eggs just for this recipe. It would be fine without. Now the raisins really added a nice sweetness. Thanks for a new household favorite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrCrackers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
These were a hit at our Christmas party. I did leave out the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Great basic recipe, but keep in mind the ingredients are all pretty mild. A pinch of salt is a little too little for our taste. Spiced up to personal taste and these are yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuliaLC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estell Manor, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brigantine, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Recipe is great. To save time on the dough, I used frozen Goya Discs. Thaw them and add the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This was my first time making or even eating empanadas. I was apprehensive at first because of the ingredients (eggs? raisins? vinegar?!) but pleasantly surprised by the results. The dough was easy to work with following refrigeration. I also baked mine vs. frying. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
These were so good, and a big hit with everyone at my dinner party. I followed the recipe, but left out the eggs and used refrigerated dough. I fried them in an electric skillet because I don't have a deep fryer. The flavor was wonderful, it sounds like a strange combo; beef, paprika & cumin with raisins, but they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
DA BOMB! Upped the cumin and paprika and added a few pats of butter and a little more salt to the dough. I questioned the raisins and egg, but they are delicious! The raisins add just a hint of sweetness to cut through the richness. I also made some empanadas with just meat & cheese. Hubby loved those!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States