Fried Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I decided to try this on our camping trip because it looked really good and we could snack on it during the day. Fantastic!! We used our Dutch Oven to brown the meat and then fried it in there too! I premixed all of the spices in a baggie at home and used pre-made empanada wraps I got at the grocery store to make it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
These taste AMAZING! I made these for dinner tonight and they were SO yummy. I added garlic powder and a little extra salt to the meat. Frying them really makes them a lot tastier, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This is pretty good. I added chili paste to the meat. The stuffing is good, but we like a little heat in our food. I baked the dough, and it was alright. It is better to fry it. I would follow her directions on the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
taste great. Alittle dry. But, I see great possibilities
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I am giving this a 4-star rating only for 2 reasons: First, the spices are not sufficient. Taste your ground beef mixture before stuffing. I didn't measure my additions, but extra salt and cumin, as well as some chili powder and a dash of cayenne brought it up to my tastes. Second, 5 minutes is far too long to cook these. I did the first per the recipe, but for the remaining ones, I turned them in the fryer as soon as the edges looked golden brown. The flavor of the raisins was great, but I'm not convinced that the egg added much. Very much worth the work, CNCOOK! Thank you! Edit: I made these again, this time without the egg. I didn't miss it. Also, my fryer was filled with brand new oil, and it did take about 5 minutes to cook them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I never cook with raisins so I omitted them from this recipe. These turned out pretty good. However, I did get tired of frying them so we used the left over meat and made tacos for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Photo by AliDot
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I did not use the egg or raisins and I substituted morning star farms crumbles for ground beef. My family ADORED them! Next time, and there WILL be a next time I will add a bit more spice and some cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliDot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I made these for dinner tonight and I ate them until I had no more room in my belly!! What a yummy recipe! I followed some reviewer suggestions and added diced potatoes and chorizo sausage. It was perfect. I think if I had not added the chorizo, I would have added hot pepper or some kind of spice to kick up the heat, but the chorizo did enough for me. I did half the batch deep fried and the other half baked at 400* for 20 minutes(brushed with olive oil at the halfway mark). We loved both methods equally. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k-man's mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clemmons, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I used this recipe strictly for the dough. My mother and I have tried various ways of making dough, but they never seemed to come out quite right. This dough comes out great! It's just how I remember it from Puerto Rico. It does take a good amount of time to make, and it is a challenge without said pastry blender, but it's worth the work if you really want an authentic empanada dough. I used about 1/4 cup more water than was called for, and I also used extra flour for rolling the dough into disks. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I am so excited I found this recipe because I have been wanting to make empanadas for a while and now that I've found this I know I will be making them often! I did make changes, however, and they were: 1. I didn't use hard boiled eggs because I wasn't sold on the idea. The empanadas were AMAZING so I'm guessing they're not necessary. 2. I didn't fry them. Instead I took advice from other reviewers and baked them in the oven for 15-20 min at 400 degrees. After about 10 min in I brushed them with olive oil then left them in the oven for the rest of the time. 3. I added finely shredded carrots and super diced potatoes mostly because I had them left over from an earlier recipe. I couldn't taste the carrots so I figured this is a good way to sneak in veggies. The potatoes were also a good addition. 4. I was worried about the raisins but they actually added a yummy bite of sweetness to the empanada. But I wanted to be fun/quirky and make a garnish on the side to compliment the taste. SO I decided to make a grape salsa, which tastes AMAZING (along with sour cream) with the 'panadas. I eyed all ingredients but basically it calls for a seeded chopped jalapeno, some diced onion, chopped cilantro, a bit of vinegar, a sprinkle of salt and chopped grapes (chopped into 8ths of 4ths). Mix it all in a bowl and TA DA! Overall I LOVED this recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkpigeon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Campania, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States