Fried Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
These are the closes I've seen to my mothers. Please give yourself the time to make them as it seems like it took a while, perhaps b/c I kept checking the laptop to be sure I did everything. I added 2 microwaved baked potato cut into small pieces to the mixture. I would also recommend adding more salt. The next time I make the dough I'll roll it out thinner b/c the way I had started them it was kind of thick . I may also try the oven as suggested. Oh, I also enjoyed a miller light for the cook. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DivaDownAspie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
These were very tasty! I omitted vinegar and raisins. I added some All Spice, beef broth and cooked potato pieces. It gave it a nice flavor. I also baked these @ 375 for @15 min. flip halfway. I just rubbed beaten egg whites on dough! For the kids I added some cheese. Served with sour cream with a few drops of lemon juice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom of 3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I decided to try this on our camping trip because it looked really good and we could snack on it during the day. Fantastic!! We used our Dutch Oven to brown the meat and then fried it in there too! I premixed all of the spices in a baggie at home and used pre-made empanada wraps I got at the grocery store to make it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
These taste AMAZING! I made these for dinner tonight and they were SO yummy. I added garlic powder and a little extra salt to the meat. Frying them really makes them a lot tastier, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This is pretty good. I added chili paste to the meat. The stuffing is good, but we like a little heat in our food. I baked the dough, and it was alright. It is better to fry it. I would follow her directions on the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
taste great. Alittle dry. But, I see great possibilities
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I am giving this a 4-star rating only for 2 reasons: First, the spices are not sufficient. Taste your ground beef mixture before stuffing. I didn't measure my additions, but extra salt and cumin, as well as some chili powder and a dash of cayenne brought it up to my tastes. Second, 5 minutes is far too long to cook these. I did the first per the recipe, but for the remaining ones, I turned them in the fryer as soon as the edges looked golden brown. The flavor of the raisins was great, but I'm not convinced that the egg added much. Very much worth the work, CNCOOK! Thank you! Edit: I made these again, this time without the egg. I didn't miss it. Also, my fryer was filled with brand new oil, and it did take about 5 minutes to cook them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I never cook with raisins so I omitted them from this recipe. These turned out pretty good. However, I did get tired of frying them so we used the left over meat and made tacos for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Photo by AliDot
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I did not use the egg or raisins and I substituted morning star farms crumbles for ground beef. My family ADORED them! Next time, and there WILL be a next time I will add a bit more spice and some cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliDot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I made these for dinner tonight and I ate them until I had no more room in my belly!! What a yummy recipe! I followed some reviewer suggestions and added diced potatoes and chorizo sausage. It was perfect. I think if I had not added the chorizo, I would have added hot pepper or some kind of spice to kick up the heat, but the chorizo did enough for me. I did half the batch deep fried and the other half baked at 400* for 20 minutes(brushed with olive oil at the halfway mark). We loved both methods equally. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k-man's mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clemmons, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States