Fried Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Fabulous recipe, crust is amazing just the right texture, i did follow some suggestions based on reviews, adding the russet potato and garlic salt. Also you have to try the cheese only variation, string cheese or mozzarella is perfect. Thank you for a fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tegucigalpa, Francisco Morazán, Honduras

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I have been looking for a recipe with this dough forever! My mom lost the one she used to make and I have been looking for one that tastes like she used to make. This is it! So happy, thanks for posting.l
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Newport, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This was amazing, I added some Jalapeno Havarti cheese inside and was it good, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Best dough recipe that I have ever tried! I made mine with chicken, potatoes, and cheese. I will try this exact recipe for Turkey Day thou, I love raisins. Thank you!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsBattle2011
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
We loved them...i was a little iffy about the raisins but choose to put them in...my daughter and fiance didn't know about the raisins until after...and they was very good...I think i might over stuffed them or something because I had 6 balls of dough leftover so I made fried apple pies with those....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsBattle2011

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Even if you choose not to use the filling part of this recipe, you MUST try making this dough! It was incredible. I halved the dough for a pound of chicken and first of all, I have to say that I was nervous about it being messy and sticky and difficult to handle - nope! It yielded 8 large empanadas and one small one, with a lot less fuss than I thought (I rolled my circles out to be about 6 inches in diameter and they have to be THIN). Let me also say that it fries up flaky and perfect - just make sure your oil is hot before you slide these in. I tried these with chicken as follows: I sauteed half of a chopped onion in some olive oil and added a pound of cubed chicken breast. Added about 1 tsp. chili powder, 3/4 tsp. salt, 1 tsp. cumin powder, 1 tsp. paprika, 1/4 tsp. ground black pepper. I covered this and let it cook on medium heat, stirring occasionally. When the chicken was cooked through I let it cool (omitted the raisins and vinegar) and added half a cup of chopped orange bell pepper and a tablespoon of chopped cilantro. Shredded the chicken into smaller pieces and divided into two portions; added habanero cheese to one and left the other as is. Used this to stuff the empanadas, and they were fantastic! We liked both versions, with and without the cheese. Good with sour cream or chimichurri sauce. Thanks for a great recipe and for taking away my apprehension about making these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
These are the closes I've seen to my mothers. Please give yourself the time to make them as it seems like it took a while, perhaps b/c I kept checking the laptop to be sure I did everything. I added 2 microwaved baked potato cut into small pieces to the mixture. I would also recommend adding more salt. The next time I make the dough I'll roll it out thinner b/c the way I had started them it was kind of thick . I may also try the oven as suggested. Oh, I also enjoyed a miller light for the cook. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DivaDownAspie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
These were very tasty! I omitted vinegar and raisins. I added some All Spice, beef broth and cooked potato pieces. It gave it a nice flavor. I also baked these @ 375 for @15 min. flip halfway. I just rubbed beaten egg whites on dough! For the kids I added some cheese. Served with sour cream with a few drops of lemon juice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aubrey Vickers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I decided to try this on our camping trip because it looked really good and we could snack on it during the day. Fantastic!! We used our Dutch Oven to brown the meat and then fried it in there too! I premixed all of the spices in a baggie at home and used pre-made empanada wraps I got at the grocery store to make it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
These taste AMAZING! I made these for dinner tonight and they were SO yummy. I added garlic powder and a little extra salt to the meat. Frying them really makes them a lot tastier, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States