Fried Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Great recipie, the empanadas are originally Argentine, thw women in the pampas prepared the "take away" treat for thier "Gauchos, other south American cointries coame out with similar versions as the Gauchos travelled throughout the Americas. Thank you for sharing this fantastic recipie!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIANAO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I've made this recipe several times, both as written and with changes. It's great both ways! I've found the egg is so subtle I don't really miss it. Instead, I usually replace it with diced potatoes or hash browns if I don't want to wait for the potatoes to cook. I've also tried puff pastry instead of the dough recipe and it's probably sacrilege but it's handy for a quicker meal. You can freeze the filling, the rolled out dough circles (separated by wax paper in a ziploc), or the whole cooked empanada. The puff pastry doesn't reheat as well. The recipe as written freezes great and microwaves like new!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Did not use the raisins, vinegar or egg, I will try it next time! These were great! My 14 yr. old son wanted empanadas from a local shop. I told him we would make them instead! Will make them again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Almost as good as my mom's. Next time i make this i'll omit the vinegar, I though the taste of it was too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Great recipe. I have been making Empanadas for years now but not the dough. Today I decided to make the dough seeing how it is not available where I live. The entire dish was gone in seconds. I always add olives, roasted red peppers and some garlic. Thanks for this dough recipe it is great..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Le Moine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
very good!! everything i thought they would be! i will be making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
the recipe for the crust was perfect! the filling i changed up a bit, skipped the raisins and eggs and added chopped garlic and chopped up green olives w/ pimentos. they were delicious. fried half and froze the other half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
These were so good, my husband and I fought over the last one! I made the recipe as listed with no substitutions, but I did add a little more cumin, paprika and cayenne pepper to spice up the filling a bit. The raisins add the perfect touch of sweetness to complement the spicy meat--I would probably increase the amount of raisins next time. I don't have a deep fryer, so I fried the empanadas in about 3 inches of oil in a deep saucepan and it worked fine (be sure to use a digital thermometer to check the oil's temperature before you add the empanadas). The dough fries up so light and flaky! I would make more right now if they weren't so terrible for me :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I use the dough recipe and then stuff them with whatever strikes my fancy at the time. The dough is fantastic. I make it gluten free, and people that have tried them couldn't tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
These were not exactly what I was looking for but they were not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States