Fried Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I am not sure what I did wrong. My dough was nothing like the finished product of a lot of the photos on this site. I do see some photos that look like mine did-which was pale white and very bland. The filing was bland, too. I made a double amount and ended up giving them away. I spent most of the day making them, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This recipe was too labor intensive for the finished product in my opinion. They fried up great in the deep fryer, but it was just too much fried dough for me. I was only able to eat 2 because of the grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This was awesome! Was not hard to make! I am the world's worst with rolling out dough, and this was by far the easiest to handle EVER! I married into a German family. They make something very similar called perogies or vranakha. It's same thing just filled with homemade cottage cheese, so I split my dough and did both! They loved it! It has now been voted in for Friday dinners. It makes up a ton too, so we ate for a few days on one batch. O, FYI, we had some fried and some baked: they preferred the baked ones, by consensus vote! We will be filling these little darlings with baked apples, strawberry jam, chicken mixed with veggies and cream soup (think chicken pot pie!) The list is endless! Thanks SO VERY MUCH FOR THIS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seminole, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
It also works very well if you use the end of a fork to crimp the edges. Here in Chile they make empanadas allot. I have made them with just grated cheese, and they are really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asaph Goodenough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I used my own filling recipe (ground beef onion garlic, smoked paprika, Mexican oregano) I sauteed it all together and drained it well and added bread crumbs and an egg. I rolled the pastry very thin and did not poke holes in them. They were well sealed and did not leak. The crust puffed up in the peanut oil in my deep fryer very nicely. Really good pastry for the fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
These tasted great. Quite a bit of work, but they tasted very good. I baked these in the oven with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
They were tasty but very hard work (more that 2 hours in the kitchen). It would have been easier to roll our the dough and use a cookie cutter to cut out the thin circles (but the diameter was not specified). I used 1/2 cup of margarine (1 stick) instead of the shortening. I baked at 350 for 20 minutes and it was not done, so I continued at 400 degrees for another 15-20 minutes- (that's when it started turing golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Incredible with the exact recipe. Very flavorful and super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
5 stars for the dough, it was great!!! made my own filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I think that this recipe is great. I used a chicken, cheese, and salsa filling. you can also make these sweet, with a apple filling. I love the fact that you can put so many different things inside of them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hammonton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States