Fried Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
really good. my family was suprised at the raisins. It made for a suprising treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I was very hesitant to try this recipe because the thought of working with dough terrifies me. But, after several small batches, they finally came out perfect. Novice cooks don't be scared, if I can make these you can too. The trick to filling them is to add only a tablespoon of meat to the dough and partially seal it, then repeat until it is full (I tried to add the meat all at once and kept making holes in the dough). I ended up baking these for 20 minutes at 400 degrees. The first batch I brushed them with egg whites and the second batch I brushed with milk and honey. I agree with another reviewer that the dough is probably best fried, but I wanted to make them a little healthier and they still tasted wonderful. Thanks for a delicious recipe, and I can't wait to try them deep-fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
this is just like the Chilean empanadas that my grandma just to make. No one understands empanadas until they have one of these little pies filled with goodness. Great! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3RDTIMESACHARM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
These empanadas are delicious, and my husband, who is from peru, says they are just about like those he's eaten there. He likes them with very hot pepper salsa. I think it's important to deep fry them because they don't really have much shortening in proportion to the amount of flour. The deep frying gives them a pastry taste rather than a "biscuity" one. Try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Valdese, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
i LOVED these. our fryer doesn't work anymore so i just baked them in a 400 degree oven [coating it with a little bit of olive oil]. my whole family thought they were great. the empanadas were VERY filling but they were so good, they were all gone the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Sebring, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
This is the real thing! Empanadas Chilenas, I love them. The only thing I did different was: brushed the empanadas with eggwhites diluted in water and I baked them, 350º for 15 to 20 minutes, until golden brown. They were great! Healthy version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
This dough is on point! I was in La Serena, Chile earlier in the year and dined on Empanada Carisco; the best I've ever had. This dough is just as flaky and crispy. I made my own filling: 4 chorizo sausages (shredded, sans wrapping), half block of shredded mozarella, garlic, and leftover mexican cheddar. This is so good, I'm gonna make this for my Chilean friends at our next luau!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
These were great!!!! I did change the recipe a little. I didn't add hard boiled eggs or the raisins. I did add cheese. They were great just like the ones you would get at your favorite Mexican restaurant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abi G.
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Took a bit of time but it was worth it. I increased the recipe's spices to taste, and also added a little cayenne pepper (husband and I like it spicy). Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abi G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This is the only empanada recipe that I've tried and I see no reason to look further! So good that my family can hardly wait for them to cool. I think the raisins add such great flavor - I like to chop them up. This is going into my recipe box. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYFAE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States