Fried Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I've only used this recipe for the dough, not the filling. I love love love this dough. Great flavor and SUPER easy to make. My husband and kids eat them up like nobody's business
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I had made a different filling to reuse leftover meatballs and added different stuff to it. This review is for the dough: The dough was so easy to work with. I did use butter because I didn't have shortening. It was still workable but will result in a tougher texture. For sure, I will pick up shortening the next time I make empanadas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
The filling is delicious, but the recipe for the pastry is a little tough and hard to roll out. I will use a different pastry recipe but stick with this filling recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EBONY3
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This is a good base recipe to which other ingredients may be added. For instance, I added diced green bell pepper, garlic, parsley and thyme. I also followed the advice of other reviewers and added a diced potato and cheese, but I omitted the boiled egg. All of these extra ingredients helped bump up the flavor a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBONY3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Road Town, Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Awesome recipe! I did make a few changes. I knew that a pinch of salt would not be enough to taste the flavors so I used 1/2 teaspoon of salt, 1 teaspoon of season salt and 1 teaspoon of beef bouillon powder. I also used turkey instead of beef and omitted the raisins, vinegar, and eggs. For the crust I used Chef John's buttercrust pastry dough. I used the buttercrust pastry dough so I can bake it and still have the crunchy/flaky exterior. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Seriously the best! They were so good the only thing I did different was add taco mix to the meat to add flavor but the dough was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I did alter this recipe heavily - sorry... I used the dough recipe, using margarine in place of shortening, and that was fantastic. I didn't have the spices - I used the rest to make taco seasoning - so I used my taco seasoning instead! I used chopped onion and green peppers. It was sooooo good. My father who NEVER eats meals had 3 of these!!! He also asked that any leftovers be put away for him. I'm still in shock! There is no better compliment! The rest of us used sour cream and/or salsa to top them. Oh sooo good. Thank you so much for this base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danny

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I must say I really loved the dough. It is perfect although frying it was a pain. Next time I plan to bake. The filling however I totally changed that since I did not have all the ingredients. I think you put anything to your taste and come out a "winner"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
They came out great. I did 1lb of ground meat and 1/2 lb of ground turkey. Even the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I am not sure what I did wrong. My dough was nothing like the finished product of a lot of the photos on this site. I do see some photos that look like mine did-which was pale white and very bland. The filing was bland, too. I made a double amount and ended up giving them away. I spent most of the day making them, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States