Fried Egg Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
Southern hubby was amazed that my Northern self knew about fried egg sandwiches. I have always just made them with salt and pepper on buttered toast slices, no cheese, no mayo, no ketchup. But the additions sound pretty good. If you cook your eggs over easy the yolk does get kind of messy while eating but I just sop it up with my toast. Also, since this recipe is being compared to fast food I have recently ventured into making them in the microwave. It’s faster and easier and less clean up. Melt a little margerine in a small glass ramekin type bowl. Swirl the margerine around to coat the bowl. Break your egg into the bowl. Prick the yolk gently 2-3 times with a toothpick. It does not run like you might think. Cover your little bowl with wax paper and mike on high for about 45 seconds. You can make more eggs in more bowls at the same time by adding a few more seconds. Slide them out onto your toast. Use a potholder, they are hot. They come out round just like those egg McYouknowhats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Jaeger
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I guess I'm the minority, I didn't like the ketchup on this sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
I changed this up a little. My ingredients are as follows: Fried egg Toasted rye bread Extra sharp white cheddar cheese Bacon (tasty addition) Mayo (no ketchup) I would have liked to add tomato and onion if I had it. Traditional is good too though the way I made them before was just with egg and mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This is a joke right? People who can't assemble a breakfast sandwich without a recipe should probably be institutionalized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Egg sandwiches are a staple in this house - in many shapes and forms. I was curious to try this one as it had the addition of mayonnaise. I made two sandwiches and used toasted whole grain bread. I liked the ketchup and mayo, but will probably go back to my old standard. My husband left his plain and of course had to add some bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This was good! I took JUSTCYN's idea and tried this one in the microwave, for convenience sake. I sprayed PAM inside a small, square tupperware container, and added the pepper to the egg mixture (I left out the salt, I'm not big on it). This method worked like a charm. From start to finish, I had my sandwich in about three minutes. This is a keeper, no doubt. Perfect for the mornings I'm in a rush and need something quick before class. Not to mention I won't be spending time/money in the McDonald's drive-thru twice a week. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This is delicious - as is anything involving fried eggs, in my opinion :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathjdyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chorley, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I fried my eggs in bacon grease and used cheddar cheese instead of American. My kids wanted their sandwiches with ketchup and mayo so I made theirs according to the recipe. I did not, I just shook some Frank's hot sauce over my eggs before I put the bread together. As always, egg sandwiches are economical, quick and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I knew I was going to like this recipe but I had no idea just how tasty this simple recipe would be! Biting down into this bad boy was a true treat that I'd recommend to just about anyone. I'd stress, as others have, that the ketchup is a must and shouldn't be feared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Morgantown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
definitely a tasty and quick breakfast snack when you're in a hurry. Or when you're just plain lazy. Salt and Pepper are crucial. I personally skip the mayo and ketchup and go straight for the hot sauce. Call me crazy, but I need some spice to get me going in the morning. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Fried Mortadella Sandwich

Raise the fried bologna sandwich to incredible new heights!

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States