Fried Egg Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Just love egg sandwiches! And, you are right, quick, easy, better than that McD thing. I have made them for years and I wish to suggest one more condiment to add. People think I am nuts, but I grew up with this. Take a small piece of egg sandwich and put "sweet relish" on it with the ketchup. Mom made them that way and I couldn't argue with mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Ok, I'll add my 2cents...I have been making fried egg sandwiches for ever and have taught my husband and kids to make their own. I know ketchup is good on eggs...but I don't use it on my egg sandwiches. I use a little mustard and Miracle Whip instead of Mayo. It adds a nice tang. Oh yes, I had to give up the white bread long time ago but use any other healthy bread with grains..That was hubby's choice, just as good tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
For a healthier version lower in cholesterol I use egg substitue. Both my husband and I have been eating these since we we're kids. Our mothers would pack these in our luched in grade school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin McNamee Lyle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
There is nothing better than an egg sandwich on plain white toast! My favourite variations are to use HP Sauce instead of ketchup or use Marmite with stout Irish cheese on Irish bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary B

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I was raised on egg sandwiches. I prefer to scramble my eggs first and then cook them--sort of like an omelet. I'm not a fan of egg whites. I add tomatoes on my sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This is so much better with the egg, cheddar cheese, bacon, mayo, and hot Pace Picante Salsa, We also love to add Peanut Butter, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I had no idea this was a southern thing or a northern thing. All I know is I was raised in Nebraska and I thought my dad, my brothers and I were the only ones that liked fried egg sandwiches. Me? I like mine with salt and pepper, crisp bacon, mayo and dill pickles. The dill pickles seem to put others on a high ick factor, but I like it. My big ick factor is soft eggs mashed into pancakes. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I used to make Fried Egg Sandwiches in college because they were cheap and delicious. I always used Miracle Whip rather than mayo, and no ketchup. Miracle Whip just adds something special to the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This is an old standby in my family with a couple of exceptions. Cheddar, no processed cheese, a thin slice of ham, anything but white (paste) bread, and NO CATSUP. What makes it is using Salsa instead of catsup. That is the magical ingredient, whether served on a plate with toast on the side, or as a sandwich. Mmmmm When my duaghters and I talk about their childhood, this breakfast always comes up. Has to have been good. Eggs and salsa were made for each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kimberley, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I have made these for a long time, sans the ketchup...I will also add bacon, or ham, and makes a great tasty meal...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Fried Mortadella Sandwich

Raise the fried bologna sandwich to incredible new heights!

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States