Fried Egg Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
I love fries egg sandwhiches. I dont like mayo and ketchup. I butter my toast. Better to make at home than to order as a fast food breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
My husband has been making these sandwiches for years. Only difference is he uses English muffins, toasted, and usually puts on a sausage patty. To make sure the sausage doesn't shrink up too much, he presses them between the bottoms of two dessert plates. They flatten out nicely, then when they shrink up during cooking, they are just the right size. Skip on the salt, there is plenty in the cheese and sausage (if you use it) already. Also, we don't use the mayo or ketchup, the flavor is good enough on it's own. Perhaps we'll try it that way some time. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
YUM, I fried 2 eggs in olive oil, prepared them over easy, and slapped them on toasted white bread with mayo and tomatoes(instead of ketchup). Delicious! Add a variety of veggies! I wanted lettuce and onion, but didn't have any on hand (shopping day is tomorrow) Be creative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
Southern hubby was amazed that my Northern self knew about fried egg sandwiches. I have always just made them with salt and pepper on buttered toast slices, no cheese, no mayo, no ketchup. But the additions sound pretty good. If you cook your eggs over easy the yolk does get kind of messy while eating but I just sop it up with my toast. Also, since this recipe is being compared to fast food I have recently ventured into making them in the microwave. It’s faster and easier and less clean up. Melt a little margerine in a small glass ramekin type bowl. Swirl the margerine around to coat the bowl. Break your egg into the bowl. Prick the yolk gently 2-3 times with a toothpick. It does not run like you might think. Cover your little bowl with wax paper and mike on high for about 45 seconds. You can make more eggs in more bowls at the same time by adding a few more seconds. Slide them out onto your toast. Use a potholder, they are hot. They come out round just like those egg McYouknowhats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
I have actually had this before, but, I've never tried it with ketchup before. You're absolutely right though, this sandwich is a great comfort food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
Pretty good and easy too! Left off the ketchup and mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
My boyfriend and his roommates live off this sandwich. It's good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
I have been making these since I was in elementary school (without the ketchup though). I LOVE them and I've gotten every one of my room mates and family members addicted to them. Try making them on bagels! Thanks for posting this Erica.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
Mmmmm...Loved it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUSHSUCKER

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
Why is everyone so afraid of adding ketchup?! Ketchup is key to this delicious sandwich. (Usually though, I do not add cheese, cuts the fat). Not just for breakfast, this sandwich is great any time of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Fried Mortadella Sandwich

Raise the fried bologna sandwich to incredible new heights!

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States