Fried Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2007
give this recipe 4 of 5 as is...was very tasty and great with ranch. took away 1 star b/c it was a bit salty...try 1/4 tsp. or omit all together. second time added 2 tsp. franks hot sauce to milk mixture and 3/4 tsp. cayenne pepper for more flavor. this makes it 5 of 5...not spicy at all just a little more flavor...just as good as hooters!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
These were definitely a hit. I used zesty pickle spears instead of slices (they retain less oil than an equal weight of slices AND it takes less time to coat and fry them all), added hot sauce to the egg mixture, and added garlic salt rather than plain to the flour. I also tossed a couple of teaspoons of steak seasoning to the flour. I made my husband test them before we left for the party, and he approved. I'm glad I made two jars of pickles, but I wish I had saved one or two for myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
This is great!!! We were down south last week and had fried pickles at two different restaraunts. It was the first time i had them and I was in love. When we got home, we had to replicate them. Got on allrecipes.com and found this one. The only difference is that we used a skillet and added cayanne. For dipping we used ranch with dill. The breading sticks to these much better than the kind we had down south. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
I had fried pickles at a small diner in Charlotte for the first time. I never thought anyone could come close. Wow this is the best recipe for fried pickles ever. Almost better than the diner. Loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I've been meaning to rate these for over a year...This is one of my husbands favorite snack/side dish when we have some sort of sub-type sandwich or hamburgers. I usually add a little more pepper to them when they come out of the pan just because that's what he likes. I've also thrown a handful of panko crumbs into the mix at times for a slightly different texture. Either way these are good. Serve with ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Added 2t Frank's hot sauce and 2 t cayanne and these turned out AWESOME! Be sure to eat it with Hidden Valley's homemade buttermilk ranch prepared according to the back of the packet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I grew up in the South but I had never heard of fried dill pickles! I'm surprised my grandmother didn't know about these... I fixed them just like the recipe said but instead of deep frying, I put then in a cast iron skilled and fried then on all four sides until they were golden brown and crispy. I'll make these again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I was introduced to these at the Pickle Factory Restaurant Bar at Pepin WI. It is located on Lake Pepin on the Mississippi River and is at a wharf area. Of course they are famous for the Fried Dill Pickles. It is a cool popular place if you every get to Wisconsin. I crave these and this is a great recipe. Not the healthiest so that is the 4 star but sometimes we eat things not too healthy. I do like some panko crumbs mixed in with this (1/2 c.). It seems lighter and a different batter. They serve it with Ranch Dressing but I am going to play with a little hot sauce in it. Now I can make these at home and not have to drive 500 miles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
awesome!!!! so delicious!!.my teenage boys loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Fabulous recipe!! These are better than any I have had in restaurants. Make your own ranch dip for an extra special party treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

Carolyn’s KOOL-AID Pickles

Give ordinary pickles bright color and add fruity sweetness to the tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States