Fried Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
The batter is WAY too thin and the recipe calls for too much flour/dry ingredients. I added an extra egg and flour to the batter and took out more than 1/2 of flour and added plain bread crumbs to the dry ingreds, plus a lot of spices. My first batch (from AllRecipes) was so bland and tasteless...I working on my 2nd batch as I type this. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Wow! I'd never had fried pickles before but came across this recipe and just had to try them. Note that the recipe does call for double-dipping: Milk-flour-milk-flour. This gives them a nice coating of light batter. Wonderful in ranch dressing. Had them a few times now and get 'cravings' regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARRI_PAGE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
wonderful recipe! turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Pretty good... added cayenne pepper to the flour... and hot sauce instead of worchesshire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I actually LOVE fried pickles. When I became pregnant with my 3rd child it's what I craved. I made these as followed and was not a HUGE fan. They were good but next time I'll have to make sure the oil isn't too hot and I may opt to use breadcrumbs instead, maybe with some spicy seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Yummy! I fried these on the stove as when I used them in the deep fryer they made a horrible mess. ;o) Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgattis
Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Followed recipe exactly and used ranch dressing as dip. Thought about adding little cayanne pepper next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This was pretty delicious! I ended up adding some Valentina (Mexican hot sauce) to the batter to give it more of a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
made these exactly as the recipe stated and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
My husband loved these pickles. Served them with a bottles spicy ranch dressing as a dipping sauce. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Carolyn’s KOOL-AID Pickles

Give ordinary pickles bright color and add fruity sweetness to the tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States