Fried Cucumbers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I've eat fried cucumbers since I was old enough to eat solid foods, I'm sixty six so they are nothing new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NatureHippy
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I would have never thought to fry cucumbers in the fashion of green tomatos. I had to add my own tweaking to the breading and seasoning there in, BUT this is a really good recipe I loved it and will make again... THANK you for sharing such a GREAT idea....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I made this exactly as instructed and it was alright but nothing exciting. I never fry anything and I never use cornmeal so I think it was just my taste and inexperience. I will try again using some of the ideas from other posters and hopefully it will be as I hoped. update: So tonight I gave this another try but changed it a bit. I sprinkled garlic powder on the cucumbers then coated it in corn meal, then dipped in water and then bread crumbs. I then sprinkled with salt and pepper and baked for about 20-25 minutes on 375! they came out sooooo much better. More flavor and crispy instead of soggy. This way is worth 5 stars I think!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
used a preseasoned cornmeal mix for fish frying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Oh ya, that's what I'm talkin' about!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Our family has enjoyed these for years but we usually cut them lengthwise, dip them in beaten egg with a little milk and then ZESTA cracker crumbs. Add salt and pepper and these are like vegetable steak to me mmmmmm! You have to have the oil fairly hot to start with and keep it hot or they will absorb the grease, then drain on paper towels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I tried fried cucumbers for breakfast this morning. 1 peeled & sliced cucumber 1/4 cup vegetable oil 1 cup yellow cornmeal 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder 1/2 teaspoon onion powder 1/4 teaspoon black pepper 1/4 teaspoon salt or (salt to taste) Heat vegetable oil in a large frying pan. Combine all dry ingredients in a bowl, cover seasoned cucumbers well. Put some slices into hot oil. fry 1 1/2 minuets per side, until golden brown. Serve & Enjoy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Gore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This was an okay recipe. I took the advice of some other posters and tweaked it a little. I dipped the sliced & peeled cucumbers in an egg, then dipped them in a mixture of flour, breadcrumbs, parsley, paprika, garlic powder, and salt. Fried them in a skillet in vegetable oil. They are a pretty finicky veggie to fry. Make sure you don't overcook. The thinner the slice, the crunchier (and less soggy/mushy) the end product. I recommend changing the oil throughout the process, the ones that tasted the best were the ones that were done in fresh oil (not the oil that i had already fried 10 cucumber slices in). Next time I will add Parmesan cheese to the mixture, I think it would make it a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
just not for us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Not as tasty as I'd hoped. I used another post's breading idea (corn meal, then egg, then italian bread crumbs) and that was good. Just not a fan of warm mushy cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States