Fried Cornmeal Mush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This was a treat when I was growing up. Now my kids LOVE it. However, I make one minor change: Bring 2 cups of water to a boil. In a small bowl, combine cornmeal and the last cup of water and the salt. Stir this into the boiling water very slowly. Stir constantly until thickened. We have always eaten this with butter and syrup. It is very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
308 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
This is the best recipe for fried cornmeal mush I have ever had. –Sorry Grandma- I add the salt, 2 tablespoons butter, and food coloring to the water. Stir cornmeal over med heat until it is dough-like consistency. Our CHRISTmas morning tradition has been Red fried cornmeal mush one year and Green the next. Doing it in the oven at 400 degrees for 10-15 minutes(per side) was a real blessing, and tasted terrific. (I still made a few on the stovetop, as I like mine real crispy. The rest of the family LOVED the oven done ones. Jam, syrup, powdered sugar- goes well with just about anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul WIDMARK
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2001
I love love love cornmeal mush and am thrilled to finally have a written recipe! For a twist, add cooked crumbled sausage (we prefer spicy sausage). We've always sliced ours very thin, salted lightly and baked until golden (about 10 min., but watch closely) in a 400 degree oven instead of frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PESTANO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
My local market used to sell cornmeal mush in the refrigerator case and I guess due to east coasters really not knowing what it was, they discontinued it. My hubby and I had it at a Bob Evans when we traveled to a wedding in Chicago and loved it. Naturally, I was pretty excited when I saw it in the market knowing how much he loved it. So I searched for a recipe that would work and was pretty much unsuccessful until I found this one! This one is *perfect*! I changed nothing at all. The only thing I would do different now is double the ingredients so that I will have a loaf sized slice. I have a large loaf pan that I turned the mixture out into, so don't try this tip unless you have one of those larger Pyrex style loaf pans. My husband loved it and I can now make his favorite again. Looking at some of the other reviews that have the meat incorporated in them have piqued my interest as well! Thanks so much for posting this....we loved it!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandgirlejfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I have made cornmeal mush for years. I add a little ground sausage to the boiling water before I add the cornmeal. I, also, dredge each slice of mush in flour first & then fry it--forms a crust. It does not work well to freeze the mush as it retains the water from freezing & it crumbles (from past experience). Good with any kind of syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
My girls love fried mush from Bob Evans and now we can make something similar at home for so much less. Great recipe, but definately boil part of the water and stir the cornmeal into the remaining water (cold) and slowly add to boiling water. Stir, stir, stir for no lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I used to eat this a child and I am going on 30 now. We allways ate it with honey on it rather then Syrup it gave it a very good flavor.. Another nice thing to do with it is sprinkle powdered sugar on it. These two ways allways seem to go over well with the kids.. It fries up easier if you coat it in a little flower and I would recomend using a splater screen because it will pop a little..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This did not work for me. I made it yesterday morning, refrigerated it for the rest of the day and overnight and tried to slice it up to fry after church and it was too soft to slice. I went to look at other fried mush recipes on other sites and saw that most of them tell you to cover and simmer for an additional twenty minutes or so. All I know is, this recipe, the way it was posted is not firm enough to slice. The recipe on the package of cornmeal actually worked much better than this one. It called for three cups of boiling water, one cup of cold water. Also it said to cover and simmer for fifteen minutes after the cornmeal started to boil and thicken. Without the extra cooking time, the cornmeal will never set up. I know this, because I ruined three batches before I tried the recipe on the package.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
This was a great meal...and so easy. I just cooked up the cornmeal the night before (takes less than 10 minutes) and then sliced and baked it the next day. We put butter, salt and pepper on it while it was still piping hot and enjoyed with veggies. I think these would be great topped with some spicy bean chili, too. Thanks for a quick, new meal idea, Michele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spongebob7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
Wow! I used to enjoy fried cornmeal mush as a child. This was even tastier, and how simple! I scaled the recipe down to two servings, and poured the mush into two mini-loaf pans instead of one full size loaf pan. This morning I fried up one portion, and sliced the other portion and put it in the freezer, between sheets of waxed paper. Now I have another meal, ready to fry up. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Fried Mortadella Sandwich

Raise the fried bologna sandwich to incredible new heights!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States