Fried Cornmeal Mush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I have made cornmeal mush for years. I add a little ground sausage to the boiling water before I add the cornmeal. I, also, dredge each slice of mush in flour first & then fry it--forms a crust. It does not work well to freeze the mush as it retains the water from freezing & it crumbles (from past experience). Good with any kind of syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Delish! I served the mush with maple syrup on top just like my mom did when I was little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I wouldn't eat mush when I was little because I didn't like the name. When I saw this recipe I decided to give it a try, just to finally see what it's like. I thought it was okay, but probably wouldn't make it again. I have two suggestions: first, add the cornmeal slowly to the water. I had a few lumps that I couldn't get out, although they weren't noticeable as I ate it. Second, don't try to turn the mush until a crust has formed on the outside. That keeps it from breaking apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
I thought this was great but no one else in my family was very enthusiastic about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Perfect. My dad used to make this all the time when I was little, didn't realize how easy it was until I came across this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
My mom used to make mush for breakfast when I was little, and we would eat it with syrup, so this brought back memories! I'm so glad I found this recipe, so that I can make it for my children! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2006
I made this because my Granny had always spoken highly of mush. I was not impressed, but the kids loved it with syrup. I might make again for them at lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homeward Hearts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Just like when I was a kid. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
Wow! I used to enjoy fried cornmeal mush as a child. This was even tastier, and how simple! I scaled the recipe down to two servings, and poured the mush into two mini-loaf pans instead of one full size loaf pan. This morning I fried up one portion, and sliced the other portion and put it in the freezer, between sheets of waxed paper. Now I have another meal, ready to fry up. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
I can't believe how easy this is, and I can't believe I've been using the pre-packaged kind all these years. This is delicious, has a better texture, and browns very nicely (the packaged kind takes forever to brown). Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Fried Mortadella Sandwich

Raise the fried bologna sandwich to incredible new heights!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States