Fried Cornmeal Mush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I should have read the reviews before frying it - mine needed to be floured then fried. And I think, because I like it crispy, I sliced it too thin. Will go try another slice, floured! [also, I'd like it better with white cornmeal.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midwestchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I guess because I'm not a regular cornmeal eater this recipe had little appeal to my family and I. It was hard to brown in the pan and very dense...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Great recipe!! Lasts quite a while in fridge too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This is an awesome gluten free treat. My mother adds crumbled up cooked pork sausage while it is still warm, then pours into bread pan to set up overnight. Before frying we dredge in gluten free pancake flour to prevent splattering. Cook until golden brown and serve with maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I've been making fried cornmeal mush for years, but recently started buying my cornmeal in bulk and couldn't find the recipe for making the mush! I was so happy to find the exact same recipe from the box listed here at AllRecipes. I agree with another reviewer who said if you think this needs extra spices or flavorings, you didn't grow up eating this treat. It's all in the toppings you add to it! Some people like it topped with butter and maple syrup. I like it with mustard, and my father likes to put spaghetti sauce on his. The "bland" flavor of the mush lends itself well to any number of topping combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Good but I feel it needs sugar and or vanilla mixed in to make it tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
people that think this needs spices or seasoning did not grow up with this awsome breakfast treat. If you forget to make it the night before, just mix it up in the morning and drop spoonfuls into a frying pan and you'll have fried cornmeall mush in no time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This was only ok - maybe a bit more interesting with some spices mixed into it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This is the same recipe that is on the box and the same my grandmother made 73 years ago. Diced green chiles and sauage fried crip with a couple of eggs good south texas breakfast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Thanks for this great recipe. My husband grew up on fried cornmeal mush. I didn't so had no idea how to make it. We can buy a loaf of it in the store but it's so much cheaper to make it at home, plus I know exactly what's in it. My kids love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Fried Mortadella Sandwich

Raise the fried bologna sandwich to incredible new heights!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States