Fried Cornmeal Mush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This is a childhood favorite of mine and now my children. My mother always made this by using ham broth (made by boiling a ham or ham hock) instead of water. Salt was added after cooking if necessary due to the use of the ham broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I really liked this, it was fast and easy. However, next time I will use much less salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
So simple and so delicious. I fried some up and put some Frank's hot sauce on it hoo boy that's some good stuff. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason0475

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Friendship, New York, USA
Living In: Cuba, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I'm 55 and its just like grandma's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1i1_roo
Living In: Michigan City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This was great. I just ate mine as mush tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emiller
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Just as I remember....Awesome! I added the picture with the green bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orrville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Was looking for this recipe. My husband's father used to make it when he was growing up. He said this was exactly as he remembers it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This did not work for me. I made it yesterday morning, refrigerated it for the rest of the day and overnight and tried to slice it up to fry after church and it was too soft to slice. I went to look at other fried mush recipes on other sites and saw that most of them tell you to cover and simmer for an additional twenty minutes or so. All I know is, this recipe, the way it was posted is not firm enough to slice. The recipe on the package of cornmeal actually worked much better than this one. It called for three cups of boiling water, one cup of cold water. Also it said to cover and simmer for fifteen minutes after the cornmeal started to boil and thicken. Without the extra cooking time, the cornmeal will never set up. I know this, because I ruined three batches before I tried the recipe on the package.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Perfect! Just like my Mommom used to make. I doubled the recipe to fill the loaf pan. Delicious! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Yenser
Home Town: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Awesome! The slices fried til golden on both sides served with breakfast sausage and syrup. Yummy. I grew up calling this Hon Mas. I read some reviews, if you made it right its like a very thick gritty jello consistencey, I cut mine just about a half inch thick. Turns out perfect and I never flour to fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JC

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Fried Mortadella Sandwich

Raise the fried bologna sandwich to incredible new heights!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States