Fried Cornmeal Mush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This is an old time treat but, if you would dust the slices lightly with flour, you will cut down the oil splatter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I have never eaten cornmeal mush, as is, or cooked like this. I knew I would like it because I like all things with cornmeal including grits. I may even try the porridge version after trying this. Only thing is, I wish I knew how this was traditionally served. I used a little maple syrup as depicted in the main picture, but think it would be good with a fried egg like I like grits. The recipe didn't indicate how many minutes it would take to thicken. It took exactly 5 minutes of stirring. It gets thick right away and has to be stirred vigorously with a whisk to smooth it out some. If it matters I used Indian Head stone ground yellow cornmeal and it worked well. I sprayed a bread pan lightly with PAM and refridgerated it overnight covered with plastic wrap. Per a similar recipe, I found that the slices could be rolled in cornmeal before sauteing. I liked those ones better as the outsides were slightly crispier. This is kind of like making polenta, but I liked the flavor and texture much better. It was softer. I was also happy when I realized a serving was 3 slices at about 150 calories total. They are affordable to make to top. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
just exactly like my grandma made it. (plus, not one of my kids complained about it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I followed recipe. Worked fine. No need to use loaf pan. I poured out on a big cutting board. I was able to slice in around an hour. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAMBONE3182

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I made it exactly as written and had no problem with it setting up--in fact, it was "solid" after cooling (before I put it in the fridge). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
My Dad made this when I was young with meat from the pigs head. Loved it. I like it crispy. This is the same recipe, but I doubled it for a loaf pan. Since I didn't have any meat like Dad I put fried and cumbled sausage in it. It was really tasty. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I make this like my Grandma used to...With ham broth in place of some or all of the water. :) She would use bits of ham in it, too. We fry it, and they eat it with syrup, but I know my cousins eat it with apple butter. :) Fried mush always makes me miss Grandma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I loved this, much better than grits! I sweetened with honey and brown sugar. I served it as a porridge, and followed the tip to stir the cornmeal into 1 cup cold water before adding it to the 2 cups of boiling water. Success! I then rolled the cooled mix into 'mush balls' and served it to my kids that way also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Go Tebow. Great recipe. When I was a kid, I loved the Stokes brand that came in a can. I think it was a local Colorado brand but had disappeared like so many other things. I mold it in a can which can be opened on both ends. Just wash out a can and save the lid (works really well if you have a side cutter) pour the mush in to the top and replace the lid. When it is set, cut the other end off and push the mush out a little at a time to the thickness you like and cut at the edge of the can. The result is perfect little round slices all the exact same thickness. I dust both sides with flour and fry in real butter. It is do die for fried in an iron skillet over a campfire on a cold morning with bacon and syrup. I think I will try it in Chocolate, which you may guess from my user name is the way I roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is FABULOUS! Here are two adjustments...one minor and one MAJOR! The minor is mixing one cold cup of water to the cornmeal and then adding it to the two cups of boiling water, it will be perfectly smooth! The other, and this is MAJOR...FRY IT IN BACON GREASE!!! C'mon people, you eat this like what...3-4 times a year? MAKE IT COUNT! Ohhhhhh so yummy when you fry it in bacon grease...everything is better with BACON LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Fried Mortadella Sandwich

Raise the fried bologna sandwich to incredible new heights!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States