Fried Cornmeal Mush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2001
I love love love cornmeal mush and am thrilled to finally have a written recipe! For a twist, add cooked crumbled sausage (we prefer spicy sausage). We've always sliced ours very thin, salted lightly and baked until golden (about 10 min., but watch closely) in a 400 degree oven instead of frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PESTANO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
I knew this recipe was easy, but I couldn't remember the exact amounts. Thanks for posting this recipe! Its a great weekend breakfast tradition!!!*****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIK_IT2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
Heaven! Pure southern heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2001
Mmmmm! This is great! Reminds me of when I was a kid. We always serve ours with syrup, like pancakes. Thanks, Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
This is the best recipe for fried cornmeal mush I have ever had. –Sorry Grandma- I add the salt, 2 tablespoons butter, and food coloring to the water. Stir cornmeal over med heat until it is dough-like consistency. Our CHRISTmas morning tradition has been Red fried cornmeal mush one year and Green the next. Doing it in the oven at 400 degrees for 10-15 minutes(per side) was a real blessing, and tasted terrific. (I still made a few on the stovetop, as I like mine real crispy. The rest of the family LOVED the oven done ones. Jam, syrup, powdered sugar- goes well with just about anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul WIDMARK
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
This was a great meal...and so easy. I just cooked up the cornmeal the night before (takes less than 10 minutes) and then sliced and baked it the next day. We put butter, salt and pepper on it while it was still piping hot and enjoyed with veggies. I think these would be great topped with some spicy bean chili, too. Thanks for a quick, new meal idea, Michele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spongebob7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
Crunchy on the outside, slightly creamy and chewy on the inside. More down-home than polenta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
I can't believe how easy this is, and I can't believe I've been using the pre-packaged kind all these years. This is delicious, has a better texture, and browns very nicely (the packaged kind takes forever to brown). Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
Wow! I used to enjoy fried cornmeal mush as a child. This was even tastier, and how simple! I scaled the recipe down to two servings, and poured the mush into two mini-loaf pans instead of one full size loaf pan. This morning I fried up one portion, and sliced the other portion and put it in the freezer, between sheets of waxed paper. Now I have another meal, ready to fry up. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
This brings back such delightful childhood memories! I've got a loaf of mush chilling in the refrigerator as I type. I've always fried it in bacon drippings and served with a chunk of butter and alot of salt and pepper. (Along with aforementioned bacon and fried eggs) That's going to be dinner tonite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANZO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newbury, Ohio, USA
Living In: Poplarville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Fried Mortadella Sandwich

Raise the fried bologna sandwich to incredible new heights!

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States