Fried Cornmeal Mush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I love fried mush. Instead of using a loaf pan, I used a plastic container that comes with velveeta cheese. Let it thicken upside down and voila, the perfect slice size for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This was a treat when I was growing up. Now my kids LOVE it. However, I make one minor change: Bring 2 cups of water to a boil. In a small bowl, combine cornmeal and the last cup of water and the salt. Stir this into the boiling water very slowly. Stir constantly until thickened. We have always eaten this with butter and syrup. It is very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
301 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I used to eat this a child and I am going on 30 now. We allways ate it with honey on it rather then Syrup it gave it a very good flavor.. Another nice thing to do with it is sprinkle powdered sugar on it. These two ways allways seem to go over well with the kids.. It fries up easier if you coat it in a little flower and I would recomend using a splater screen because it will pop a little..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Like many others, Fried Cornmeal Mush is a trip down memory lane. My children looked at me suspiciously when I called it Fried Mush, so I quickly changed it to Fried Polenta, which has a nice ring to it. I cooked the mush on the stove top about 20 minutes, and instead of setting overnight in a loaf pan, I spread it into a greased 9x9 casserole dish, and let cool in a window sill about a half hour. I cut it into 8 rectangles, and fried it in a little oil about 3 minutes on each side. My mom used to make it with regular cornmeal, but I think the coarse grind is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
My husband requested this because his grandmother used to make it. He said it was very close, but too watery after just 1 night. It was actually the perfect consistency after 2 nights, but the downside is you have to wait that long! We put a blended mixture of butter, brown sugar, and a pinch of salt to spread on top - really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaSmith

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Sorry, this just did NOT work out for me...I thought I would LOVE this but I found it truly disappointing...I followed the recipe exactly (how could you not? It's so simple), but it was a huge tasteless letdown =o(.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
This is great! My mom fixed this for us when I was a kid. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I have made cornmeal mush for years. I add a little ground sausage to the boiling water before I add the cornmeal. I, also, dredge each slice of mush in flour first & then fry it--forms a crust. It does not work well to freeze the mush as it retains the water from freezing & it crumbles (from past experience). Good with any kind of syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Delish! I served the mush with maple syrup on top just like my mom did when I was little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I wouldn't eat mush when I was little because I didn't like the name. When I saw this recipe I decided to give it a try, just to finally see what it's like. I thought it was okay, but probably wouldn't make it again. I have two suggestions: first, add the cornmeal slowly to the water. I had a few lumps that I couldn't get out, although they weren't noticeable as I ate it. Second, don't try to turn the mush until a crust has formed on the outside. That keeps it from breaking apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Fried Mortadella Sandwich

Raise the fried bologna sandwich to incredible new heights!

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States