Fried Cornmeal Mush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I used Bob's Red Mill gluten free cornbread mix...served as cereal topped off w/earth balance butter and a pinch of brown sugar! yumm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Very good recipe, if you like things a little spicy, add a 1/2 tablespoon of dried crushed Red Peppers to the water before adding the cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I grew up with this...love it! It's also good with cheese added and sometimes I make it with broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
This was delicious but did not set up very well. Not sure if I didn't cook it long enough or if it needs less water?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parsons, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Elkins, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This is my go-to recipe for cornmeal mush. The proportions are perfect! I don't always fry it up though. Most of the time we just serve it in a bowl like oatmeal. It's great with milk, butter, and brown sugar or maple syrup! Much more flavorful than oatmeal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charysma88

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jenison, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Delicious! Cooked the cornmeal for about 15 minutes before putting it into the loaf pan. Served with bourbon maple syrup. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This is a recipe from the good ole' days. For a real treat, try using roasted cornmeal. You can find it online and it makes a world of difference for recipes like this and cornbread, or when using cornmeal for a coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Cornmeal lumps up upon hitting boiling water and would not whisk out. I ended up having to use a hand-held mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
My Mom used to make this and slice it thin and then fry until crispy in bacon grease. Then she would top it with an egg and squirt a generous amount of ketchup on it. I thought "Yuck!" Then I tried a bite and have eaten it ever since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Cornmeal mush porridge has always been a special treat for me. Fried mush even more so. Some bacon and eggs on the side, a little sorghum molasses or honey and it's a great breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamixKat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Fried Mortadella Sandwich

Raise the fried bologna sandwich to incredible new heights!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States