Fried Corn with Smoked Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Making this recipe now. But substituting olive oil for butter and no MSG to make it healthier. I use turkey smoked sausage as well. Making with corn cut off the cob would be even better. Will do this in the summer when fresh corn comes in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONGDANCING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This is a very good and very easy to make meal... The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is I don't use MSG to flavor food. I'm am terribly allergic to MSG. So, I had to slightly increase the the amount of natural season salt, onion powder, and garlic powder. To add a little more flavor I used a pepper blend instead of black pepper. One thing I'll pass along however. The next time I make this dish I'm going to brown the sausage pieces by themselves not with the peppers and onions. All of the moisture in the peppers and onions prevented the sausage from browning (I think the crunchy texture of the fried sausage will add to the flavor and texture of the dish). Finally, The recipe calls for cooking the sausage and onions and peppers until hot 1 to 2 minutes. It took about 8 or 9 minutes to get them hot in my wok. I've added this to my recipe box and it is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candy bar

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
used metts,hominy and hashbrowns. Follow recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This was very good & has become a regular in our house as a quick dinner! I leave out the msg. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Yummy! I browned the sausage first with potatoes, I like my sausage super crispy. Didn't put in msg, just salt and pepper....mmm mm! Tasty. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I have to admit, after it was done in the skillet, I didn't think I'd like it. But it's really tasty! I followed the recipe exactly (including the Accent) except for leaving the onion powder out, because I didn't have it, but I don't think it's necessary at all. I did cook the onion and peppers longer than called for, mostly because I underestimated the amount of time cutting would take. I served it over rice. This is a really good recipe as-is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
My family loved this. I fixed it in a hurry because I had to go somewhere... but when I got home... they left me NONE!! Even the picky eaters had 2nds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Great loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
DELICIOUS! Used olive oil instead of butter, no msg or onion powder and it turned out wonderful. Served over rice cooked with beef buillon. My 19 month old loved it and ate it all! Thank you for sharing; I will definitely be making this again. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jackie
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
My whole family liked this recipe. I dont care for fresh peppers, but I had a can of corn w/ diced peppers which worked really well. I did forget the accent but I dont think its good for us anyway ? and still loved the recipe. We liked it with chicken flavor rice (all I had).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Smoked Sausage Gnocchi with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make easy gnocchi with savory smoked sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States