Fried Corn with Smoked Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I have made this dish lots of times and my family loves it. A key ingredient that is not listed is Lawry's Seasoned Pepper.(I use it instead of regular peppper) If you use it, I promise you will never go back to regular black pepper, I can hardly cook anything without it! Instead of chopping an onion I use a very large yellow sweet onion which I cut in thin strips. I cook it first for several minutes then add other ingredients. I have been buying the sausage that comes without any casing. I cut into very small pieces. I also use olive oil instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I pretty much made this according to the recipe. Just browned the sausage a little more (because we like it like that) and skipped the msg. The family said to put this into heavy rotation because they loved it. This was quick and easy so dinner was ready in a snap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This was a simple, but very delicious dish, even without of the MSG. I served it with rice and it made a complete meal. Great for a busy weeknight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
the first time I made it I took it to work for a potluck social. I put it in a crock pot to cook, i put the smoked sausage, peppers, and onions and butter in the cook on low for 2 hours then added the corn. The smell coming out of my office had everyone commenting when they came in our hallway. It was one of the first to go, didn't add the MSG (it gives me a headache) and I used turkey smoked sausage. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowersnmore

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
This is a good recipe, For THOSE who won't or don't use MSG, the best part of being a versatile cook is to add to, or eliminate certain ingredients and make it your own. We all have different tastes, so you diversify to your liking. A great chef, Nick Stellino taught me that in his recipes and books. His motto, Make it according to the recipe the first time, then make it the way you like it...... Take out the MSG, add the Seasoned salt, some garlic, and go for the gusto. Gook basic recipe, for a simple dish. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUNTRYRAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I took this dish to a BBQ and everyone really loved it! I started by adding very small diced sweet potatos, sauteing them until tender, then adding the other ingredients. I also added about a teaspoon of poultry seasining and a tablespoon of dried thyme. I cut my sausage very thinly and halved, as I was serving this as a side. Very delicious and different. Thanks for a great recipe, Dennis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was incredible. I tossed it with Ramen noodles (chicken flavor) and my family LOVED it. Cheap, easy and yummy. It doesn't get much better than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Making this recipe now. But substituting olive oil for butter and no MSG to make it healthier. I use turkey smoked sausage as well. Making with corn cut off the cob would be even better. Will do this in the summer when fresh corn comes in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONGDANCING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I split this in half and my husband and I really liked it. I followed the recipe as written and served it with a tossed salad. Yummy! I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie
Home Town: Faribault, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This was very good. I gave 4 stars as I think that I will improve on it next time. I got the idea of morphing it into a deconstructed shrimp boil. Next time will add some shrimp and a can of drained diced tomatoes. Perhaps with a little chicken broth and old bay and crusty bread for dipping into the juices. Great recipe to get you started customizing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYVOLFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States