Fried Corn with Smoked Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This is a very good and very easy to make meal... The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is I don't use MSG to flavor food. I'm am terribly allergic to MSG. So, I had to slightly increase the the amount of natural season salt, onion powder, and garlic powder. To add a little more flavor I used a pepper blend instead of black pepper. One thing I'll pass along however. The next time I make this dish I'm going to brown the sausage pieces by themselves not with the peppers and onions. All of the moisture in the peppers and onions prevented the sausage from browning (I think the crunchy texture of the fried sausage will add to the flavor and texture of the dish). Finally, The recipe calls for cooking the sausage and onions and peppers until hot 1 to 2 minutes. It took about 8 or 9 minutes to get them hot in my wok. I've added this to my recipe box and it is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candy bar

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
used metts,hominy and hashbrowns. Follow recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This was very good & has become a regular in our house as a quick dinner! I leave out the msg. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Yummy! I browned the sausage first with potatoes, I like my sausage super crispy. Didn't put in msg, just salt and pepper....mmm mm! Tasty. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I have to admit, after it was done in the skillet, I didn't think I'd like it. But it's really tasty! I followed the recipe exactly (including the Accent) except for leaving the onion powder out, because I didn't have it, but I don't think it's necessary at all. I did cook the onion and peppers longer than called for, mostly because I underestimated the amount of time cutting would take. I served it over rice. This is a really good recipe as-is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
My family loved this. I fixed it in a hurry because I had to go somewhere... but when I got home... they left me NONE!! Even the picky eaters had 2nds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Great loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
DELICIOUS! Used olive oil instead of butter, no msg or onion powder and it turned out wonderful. Served over rice cooked with beef buillon. My 19 month old loved it and ate it all! Thank you for sharing; I will definitely be making this again. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jackie
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
My whole family liked this recipe. I dont care for fresh peppers, but I had a can of corn w/ diced peppers which worked really well. I did forget the accent but I dont think its good for us anyway ? and still loved the recipe. We liked it with chicken flavor rice (all I had).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This is a great 'grub' meal. Everytime I make it, my family ooohs and ahhs. I always skip the MSG - it's oplenty seasoned without it. For an even lower cal version I use turkey smoked sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States