Fried Corn with Smoked Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This was a fabulouse and fast dish! The only changes I made were omitting the seasoned salt, msg and red peppers. I substituted the garlic powder with real minced garlic and sprinkled the mixture with salt, pepper and dried parsley and served it with southern fried potatoes. YUM YUM YUM!! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HannahB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
the first time I made it I took it to work for a potluck social. I put it in a crock pot to cook, i put the smoked sausage, peppers, and onions and butter in the cook on low for 2 hours then added the corn. The smell coming out of my office had everyone commenting when they came in our hallway. It was one of the first to go, didn't add the MSG (it gives me a headache) and I used turkey smoked sausage. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowersnmore

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This was really good! The only changes I made was to leave out the MSG, and use olive oil instead of butter. It was a little salty, so next time I think I'll reduce the seasoned salt. My family gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ekp333
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This was ok as written, but I think that many of the seasonings are overkill. I did not have green or red bell peppers, so I used orange bell pepper and zucchini because I had that on hand. I used one clove of garlic in place of the garlic powder and did not add the onion powder, since this already had fresh onion in it. I omitted the MSG. I doubled the black pepper. I served this over white rice. Next time, I will try it with the red and green pepper, omit the seasoning salt, replace the garlic powder with fresh garlic, omit the onion powder and MSG and use 1/2 t. of black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ekp333

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I wanted the corn to be the focal point of this dish because I want to use it as a side dish. So, I used 3 12-ounce bags of frozen sweet corn, I did not increase the green or red peppers and I only used 8-ounces of smoked beef sausage, diced. I like the taste and it looks really pretty with the yellow, green and red. Quick, simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Collector

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
quite yummy, but needed more sausage! i would also cook it in olive oil next time as opposed to butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissTurtle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I was skeptical about this recipe, but must admit, we loved it. I used canned corn and ommitted the msg. I also followed another users advice and added Lawrey's Seasoned Pepper. I will definitly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was incredible. I tossed it with Ramen noodles (chicken flavor) and my family LOVED it. Cheap, easy and yummy. It doesn't get much better than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Omitted the msg and added 8oz. fresh sliced white mushrooms. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Very good for being so easy. I use red and orange pepper (instead of green) and added a splash of worchestershire instead of msg. Had a good flavor and even the kids ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States