Fried Corn with Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Holy cats, this was good! Since fresh corn isn't available this time of year, I used frozen corn. The result was a very sweet tasting corn and very tasty dish! I have been asked and will definitely make this again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bullard, Texas, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
This was great! I added onions and red bell peppers (for those desiring to do so, Pictsweet makes a seasoning blend in the frozen section that has diced onions, green bell peppers, and red bell peppers! A real time saver!!!)..I also added a dash of black pepper and onion salt. I have also tried this recipe with frozen corn yielding great results. Thanks for the great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
I've made this recipe for ages, varying it up each time. During the summer, I use fresh corn from the cob but during the winter I've used frozen corn with good results. When I use bacon, I use very little drippings. However, if I don't have bacon around, I add red peppers (in addition to the green peppers) and saute them in a TBLS of butter. Also, I always add some chopped onions. Nothing fancy but they go great with burgers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
my husband raves everytime i make this. great recipe. i've even subsituted canned corn and it's still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
My husband really enjoyed this. I used a thick-sliced maple flavored bacon and also canned corn and a frozen medley of green, red and yellow peppers and onion. Looked pretty. Added fresh cracked black pepper. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
We've been making this forever (it's called Sqaw Corn in my family) - it's one of my favorite summer side dishes. You can also add in finely chopped onion and a bit of fresh cracked pepper for extra flavor. You can also freeze it to enjoy during the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
My entire family loved this recipe. Although, it was missing something, so the next time that I made it I changed it a little. I used 1/2 pound hickory smoked bacon. I didn't drain any of the grease before adding the green peppers and i used the entire bell pepper instead of half. I think the hickory smoked bacon made a huge difference. After I made it this way, we can't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This recipe was great! I was leary of the bacon, expecting that it would make the corn too greasy, but it wasn't at all. I will fefinitely fix this again. My husband loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
I usually love anything with bacon, and this is absolutely no exception! I usually leave out the bell pepper and add a little finely chopped garlic. Other than that, wouldn't change a thing. This can also be made with canned corn in a pinch, but definitely better with fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
I used red pepper instead of green due to personal taste, and I used more bacon grease. This was very good, I'm sure we'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Grilled Salmon with Bacon and Corn Relish

A warm bacon and fresh corn relish make this salmon spectacular.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States