Fried Cinnamon Strips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
These are amazing. They are quick, inexpensive, and the easiest thing in the world to make. Only comment is that you must eat them while they are warm. If you wait too long they get a little too hard. Had this with some vanilla ice-cream. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
Perfect end to our mexican-themed dinner last night- absolutely perfect!! I cut these into fourths (like triangles) and sooo easy & tasty. I've made "annie's fruit salsa and cinnamon chips" recipe from this site and these are waaaayyy easier and would be the perfect "dipping chip" for that recipe (which I'll use this recipe instead). If you like the "Cinnamon Toast Crunch" cereal-you are sure to love this b/c this is just a larger version of them!! Will make these often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2004
What a fun, fast and easy recipe! I used kitchen scissors to cut my overlapped tortillas into strips. Just make sure you really watch the strips while you're frying them. They should just have a hint of a golden color and be slightly puffed. I overbrowned a couple of batches (they weren't even very dark) and had to throw them away because they had a burnt toast taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2003
These made a great snack for the kids and I. They were very quick and easy to make and tasted fabulous. We love cinnamon and sugar, so this was just our kind of recipe. These would make great "chips" for Annie's Fruit Salsa & Cinnamon Chips. Hmmm, think I'll try that one. Thanks a bunch Arrenia!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
Oh my, how good are these?! Had nothing better to do yesterday, as yet AGAIN, N.J. got another blast of winter in spring leaving us with five inches of snow. Just to think that two weeks ago, I was outside preparing my flower pots! Anyway, these were great Arrenia and as usual, I used my Fry Daddy which made the job go very quickly. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
These were delicious. I made these for a dinner party last night early in the day and stored them in airtight containers before servings in the evening. They were nice and crispy and everyone loved them, however, they were very crumbly and messy and I would recommend you use these for outside eating, especially if some of the guests are children. I live in AZ and our summers are too hot to eat outdoors, so we ate inside and the kids made a mess on the floor. Also, fry these in a deep fryer. I do have one, but I decided to just heat some oil in a pan and do it that way. It took about 45 minutes to make a double batch of these and after such a long period of time, the oil really started to irritate my eyes. They were irritated for the rest of the day. Next time, I will definately use my deep fryer. Try these for a fun dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
Excellent dessert to finish off a mexican meal. And easy to make too. We don't use regular sugar very often, so I used Splenda and it was wonderful. My kids loved them, and my very picky 8 year old couldn't stop eating them! I think I'll serve mexican food at my next party just so I can have these! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHERN_GAL12000

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
I have been making these cinnamon strips for several years. Very easy to make but a little time consuming. I can usually get a rhythm going from one step to another. Be sure to coat them with sugar mixture while they are still warm. They are hard to put down and always go quickly whenever I make a batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
This is a great way to use leftover tortillas. My son devoured them! Reminded him of his favorite cereal Cinnamon Toast Crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
Last weekend we had an outdoor work party with some friends. In order to ensure that my "workers" were fed well and that I could be outdoors as much as possible, I had prepared most of the food ahead of time. I tripled this recipe. Yikes! Did they go fast! I had set a patio table in a Mexican theme and had bean burritos, guacamole, refried beans and a southwest chicken salad plus a non-alcoholic drink bar. These were the first to go! When everyone left, my hubby asked me where the leftovers were.LEFTOVERS! WAS HE KIDDING? Thanks for a great treat Arrenia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

How to Make Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls

These amazing homemade pumpkin cinnamon rolls are scary delicious.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States