Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
A good start to a coating for fried chicken but I definitely recommend tweaking this recipe as other members suggested perhaps dredging it in milk and or egg and using some chili powder or other types of seasoning because the coating as is was way too blah and by blah I mean no flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa Nicholls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stamford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Good, basic recipie. A great way to use inexpensive chicken quarters for a meal. It was the first fried chicken I've ever made and I enjoyed it! Have made it several times since. I do change it a bit - chicken get trimmed and dipped in a mix of egg, milk, salt and pepper - then coated in flour with a few spices added. I pan-fry the pieces and it takes 20-25 minutes total. I cover the pan with a bit of foil over the top of it and just pinch the sides of it to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knoxdogmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
So simple, but DELICIOUS! My husband liked it alot. Will use this recipe every time I fry chicken. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Koller

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seagoville, Texas, USA
Living In: Kaufman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
So simple, I used Lawry's garlic salt before dipping in flour. I think the amount of oil made the difference, I used to use a very little oil and it was good but this is better. Also the heat on high is a must! Golden delicious crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIA_ARTIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This recipe was very similar to my grandmother's recipe but I wanted a thicker crust than this recipe. I followed the directions but once i floured the pieces, I gave them an egg bath and refloured for a thicker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
since i am a house wife and have a 5 month old daughter and i am 19, this recipe is a wonderful way to say home to your husband. i like it alot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by housewife19
Home Town: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Today was the first time I ever made fried chicken! This recipe was a great start, but I added more seasonings to the flour mixture (black pepper, seasoning salt, thyme, garlic powder). I also made a milk and honey mixture that I dipped the chicken in before I coated it in the flour mixture. All in all, it was very yummy! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Dip chicken pieces in milk before dredging in the flour and the coating will be extra good. Also travels well and is great as a left-over. Use iron skillet or electric skillet so the temperature is constant and add more shortening as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
The recipe is easy and quick, tastes okay, i added seasoned salt to give more flavor and i also used boneless skinless chicken breasts and cut them into thinner smaller pieces to make "chicken nuggets" for the kids. It also cooked quicker with smaller pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA
Living In: Union City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
i tried this recipe for my family, they are very picky eater but they loved the chicken. It was flaky and tasted great, I added paparika and cayenne pepper to spice it up just a little. i will make this chicken again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

See how to make crispy fried chicken that’s lighter with less fat!

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States