Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Simple starter. loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This was my first time making fried chicken ever and this recipe turned out GREAT!!! I was quite scared at first, but it was really easy...of course I added my own twist to it with different seasonings but I will certainly remember this! My fiance' is about to try it so *fingers crossed* but I'm sure he'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Nice basic recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This is how some of us southerners fry chicken. I've seen my grandmothers and my mom prepare it this way many times and it is always good. I cannot imagine chili powder being added or boiling your chicken before frying. If you fry this on your stove top keep the heat at a medium setting or the outside of the chicken will burn before it is done on the inside. I generally use an electric skillet with the lid on and then remove the lid about 5 mins. before taking it out. It makes the chicken crispier but helps it to stay juicy. I do add some salt, pepper, and paprika to my flour. To really make this taste great fry it in some Crisco or lard in a cast iron skillet. I like to keep things light however and use the vegetable oil. I also fry my chicken tenders this way and then dip them in honey mustard sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shlbycindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I added some paprika and some pepper to the flour, but other than that, I didn't change anything. Thanks! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
great recipe. the way my mom taught me was to fry the chicken and then put it in a backing pan or sheet and cook in over the rest of the way thru to make sure its cooked fully. easier then frying for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by layla13

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda S
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I can't stress this enough an Iron skillet really does change the quality. I asked my great aunt once what she did to make her chicken taste so good and it was basically this recipe and a cast iron skillet. I like extra flavor so I add Black Pepper & Cayenne to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tiakarr
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This is just so great. Simple and tasty, easy and fast. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiakarr
Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Allendale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
These were (to me) basically just chicken legs with a little bit of flour on them boiled in hot oil. The flavor was ok, but i wasn't diggin' the texture :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
A good start to a coating for fried chicken but I definitely recommend tweaking this recipe as other members suggested perhaps dredging it in milk and or egg and using some chili powder or other types of seasoning because the coating as is was way too blah and by blah I mean no flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa Nicholls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stamford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

See how to make crispy fried chicken that’s lighter with less fat!

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States