Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This was just like my mom used to make. It was good and basic. An iron skillet is really a must. I didn't really change anything. In the end, I drained off most of the oil and made cream gravy with the drippings. Great over rice. I also looked at the Deep South Fried Chicken Recipe. They are very similar and combined the instructions for both recipes. If you have not made fried chicken before I would recommend you look at the Deep South recipe as it has a lot of really great tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
Just like my father used to make. Nice and crunchy. The chicken does take a long time to cook. So give yourself plenty of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
Very bland. Better with seasoned breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Danielsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
a great begining fried chicken recipe though it could use a little more spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This was my first time ever frying chicken, and all in all I think it went pretty well. Since I wasn't sure how well the chicken would cook, I boiled it first. The frying went faster than expected this way. Also, it probably couldn't hurt to add some spices to the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
delicious! I made this in my iron skillet and it came out perfect! I will deffinately use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Yummy and simple. My husband made this last night and the kids ate it right up.I am not a fan of fried chicken but it did smell good as he was cooking it. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
i tried this recipe for my family, they are very picky eater but they loved the chicken. It was flaky and tasted great, I added paparika and cayenne pepper to spice it up just a little. i will make this chicken again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
The recipe is easy and quick, tastes okay, i added seasoned salt to give more flavor and i also used boneless skinless chicken breasts and cut them into thinner smaller pieces to make "chicken nuggets" for the kids. It also cooked quicker with smaller pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Glisar Rvt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA
Living In: Union City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Dip chicken pieces in milk before dredging in the flour and the coating will be extra good. Also travels well and is great as a left-over. Use iron skillet or electric skillet so the temperature is constant and add more shortening as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States