Fried Chicken with Creamy Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
Very good, and easier than I expected. After reading the reviews, I doubled all of the spices. I also held out 2 T of the flour mixture for the gravy before using the rest for the chicken. The coating stayed on beautifully. I only gave it four stars because of the guilt that comes with deep frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irishalice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
Spices were spot on. My husband said this is the best fried chicken I've ever made--and went on to add that it may be the best homemade fried chicken he's ever tasted. I've always made cream gravy from the pan goodness, but must say the carryover from the flavoring did make it seem richer than my usual gravy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
I doubled the spices and made double the gravy and used skin on, bone in chicken breasts. The whole family loved it. I rated it 5 stars anyway because the spice combinations and cooking times were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
I followed this recipe exactly and then when I got to adding the chicken broth i misread and accidentally added two cups instead of one. i added more milk to try to even it out but gravy is very hard! I read a lot of reviews which said to make sure the heat is way up to avoid greasy chicken. I did even though the hot oil scared me and it turned out great. I even cooled on a rack above a paper towel to avoid the grease like one awesome reviewer said to do. This combination was perfect too, the breading didnt fall off at all and the chicken was just right! I have a dull pallet so i would add more spices but my bf loved it as is. will definitely make again, very good and pretty easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Florence, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I just don't get what all the rave is about. I thought the breading was blah and the gravy tasted like grease. Not great at all. Would not make this ever again. Made it just as the recipe stated. I even tested the temperature of my oil before frying and the batter still didn't want to stay on all that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Baltimore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
perfect breading recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This was a huge hit! Even my father in law, who is incredibly picky, asked me to make it again. I followed the recipe for the most part. I did add a little more flour to the gravy and made it a bit creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Holmes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mike Lemen
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
The best home style fried chicken I've ever had. Increased the heat with a ton of cayenne in the flour mixture cuz I grew up close to Mexico haha. Served with roasted garlic mashed baby Yukon golds. Everyone was asking for more even after it was gone...too bad!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Lemen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Reyna
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
So far this is one of the best fried chicken recipes I have tried. My kids and i love it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Amazing!!! 10 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Deep-Fried Creamy Chicken Gravy

Creamy, decadent, and rich fried Bechamel balls stuffed with chicken and ham.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Triple-Dipped Fried Chicken

See how to make the crispiest, tastiest homemade fried chicken ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States