Fried Chicken with Creamy Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
Wow! This is amazing. A lot of people complimented on how amazing the gravy was, but I thought the chicken took the prize. I substituted garlic salt for garlic powder and added onion salt and I doubled the spices. I felt 3 cups of oil was way too much, so I used 1 1/2 cups and it was fine; I just flipped the chicken pieces as it was cooking. I also doubled the gravy and served it over mashed potatoes. It was to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
GINA, YOU HAVE GOT TO BE A COUNTRYSOUTHERN COOK! I KNOW A GOOD SOUTHERN RECIPE WHEN I TASTE IT :) FOR THOSE OF YOU WHO THINK THIS IS BLAND , TRY A SEASONED FLOUR SUCH AS KENTUCKY KERNEL. ANOTHER THING IS, I READ WHERE ONE REVIEWER THOUGHT THE RECIPE CALLED FOR TOO MUCH OIL TO COOK THE CHICKEN IN. I BELIEVE THAT THROUGH TRIAL AND ERROR YOU WILL FIND THAT IF YOU FOLLOW GINA'S RECIPE AND USE THE OIL CALLED FOR , YOU WILL GET THE ULTIMATE CRISPY FRIED CHICKEN THAT WILL STILL BE JUICY ON THE INSIDE.I WOULD LIKE TO ADD THAT I ENJOYED TRYING SOMEONE ELSES RECIPE AND HAVING IT TURN OUT SOOOO DELICIOUS!!! THANKS GINA!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2001
YUMM! This is one of the best fried chicken recipes I have tried! The gravy was good, but I did add quite a bit of garlic salt, salt and pepper. The chicken was very moist. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Awesome and very, very easy. I used garlic powder and seasoning salt instead of the garlic salt, being that I didn't have any. Instead of deep frying for all that time, I just did about 4 minutes per side and then put it in a 400 degree oven for about 25 minutes until it was done. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Excellent!!! This came out SOOOO good! I used chicken breasts and fried them in skillet for about 4-5 min. per side and then cooked them in a preheated 400 degree oven for 20 min. Mmmmm....Both chicken and gravy were PERFECT! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Practically foolproof fried chicken (just make sure you watch the temperature of the oil!) and an okay basic gravy. I've made this recipe twice; the first time completely as instructed, with gravy, and the second time with a couple spice additions to the flour mixture as well as with a store bought gravy mix. The reason why I think I'll stay with the store bought is that the gravy does not have enough flavor for me and it was also too greasy and thin. It's too easy to just open up a pouch and spend two minutes boiling it up, you know? I also end up adding more pepper and paprika to my flour mixture because my boyfriend and I like it a little more spicy. If you take anything away from this recipe, though, make it what I call the triple dunk technique: flour, milk/egg, and flour again. This combo really makes the glue like consistency that helps the flour STICK to the chicken so it doesn't all fall off when you put it into the oil. Overall a nice basic recipe for those who need to practice on perfecting their fried chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellasequema

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
I am rating the GRAVY only because I have not made the chicken yet. Oh....my....word. If the chicken turns out HALF as good as the gravy, this deserves 10 stars! I bought a rotisserie chicken for dinner last night and had mashed potatoes and green beans, and my husband wanted a gravy to put on the chicken and potatoes. My jarred gravy was expired, so I thought I would try this. EASY to make and the taste was unbelievable.......and I didn't even have the chicken 'drippings' to include in it! I will NEVER use jarred chicken gravy again. Only changes - I didn't have poultry seasoning, so I added some thyme and rosemary instead, and I had to add a bit more flour mixture to get it to thicken up more. I am so anxious now to try the chicken and will add my review when I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
Well, my boyfriend stopped THREE times during dinner, to tell me to make sure not to lose this recipe, which in itself, is amazing. After the first dredging, I dipped the chicken into buttermilk - I dont know if that made a difference or not. I also needed a bit more flour mixture, so I could make the gravy. I used chicken tenderloins, and made long chicken fingers - easy, no bones. This fried chicken was AMAZING!!!!! THANKS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This was absolutely fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
Oh my gosh, this is awesome. I had only made fried chicken once before and it was bland and blah. On my second try, the combination of my new iron skillet and this recipe produced fried chicken as good as any I've EVER HAD. I loved the flavor of the gravy made with the chicken seasoning (though my husband wasn't so crazy about it). I highly recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 466) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Triple-Dipped Fried Chicken

See how to make the crispiest, tastiest homemade fried chicken ever.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States