Fried Chicken with Creamy Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by RUTHIEV
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
This is the best fried chicken I've ever made. For the simple reasons being that I doubled the spices, used a cast iron skillet, and soaked the chicken overnight in milk (with some apple cider vinegar in it). I rinsed off the milk & patted dry with paper towels. Another key is to not have the chicken too cold so I left it out for about 30 minutes after drying it. This way it doesn't bring the temperature of the oil down and you have a nice crispy coating. The gravy was over the moon good too! I made skillet biscuits before frying the chicken too. And an apple skillet cake before that in the morning. It was a wonderful Sunday Skillet Supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHIEV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This is already looking delicious and im mot even done cooking ty dor sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reyna Aguilar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
i love this fried chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I used bonless, skinless breasts chicken turned out good and the gravy was the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Tried this recipe and the chicken and gravy both were both excellent, the best I have ever made. Thank you for the recipe. Today I'm making potato salad to go with the left over cold chicken. Here it is 8 AM on a beautiful July morning and my mouth is watering thinking about that chicken. Ha ha. Guess I'd better pull up your potato salad recipe next, thanks again for making my chicken dinner a winner with every one who tried it. JD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Dollinter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Excellent. Left out the chicken stock and added a bit more milk. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Thayer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Turned out amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Good, could use some salt as soon as it finishes frying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
everyone thought the chicken was good. but the gravy was the big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by filmkat24

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
After this mean that I made in 2007 my boyfriend ask me to marry him! And still after 7yrs later I still do and he says it gets better every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 468) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Triple-Dipped Fried Chicken

See how to make the crispiest, tastiest homemade fried chicken ever.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States