Fried Chicken Gizzards Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
If you arent a seasoned cook, you wouldnt know to wet the gizzards in one way or another before coating with flour mixture....hence getting a fried gizzard with no coating! But I made a egg wash before coating with the flour mixture and it turned out great...Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladyacquiesce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
The Gizzards need to be boiled with MSG or some other meat tenderizer and also I use chicken boullion and garlic powder to boil them in. Gives them the extra flavour that the plain water removes. The other trick to keeping the batter on is to make sure the gizzards are completely cooled (run under very cold water until cool) and YES I also dip them in a beaten egg with a few drops of water added to the egg mixture. I also add a few drops of hot pepper sauce to the egg mix. Next, I add about 1/4 cup of Italian bread crumbs to the flour and spice mix, and this produces the most deeeeeelish treat when fried. Hope you try this and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This recipe in my opinion over cooks the meat. I found that if you boil for less time the meat is more supple. Once the meat is cooled coat in the flour mixture, dip in egg and then in a cracker coating. Fry in a med hot oil browning briefly on each side. The original recipe leaves a tough piece of leather to chew on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This is my new Gizzards recipe. Usually I put a little hot sauce on my gizzards, but This time there was no need. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Using the suggestions left by another reviewer, I tried marinating the gizzards in buttermilk overnight and adding a little MSG to the flour mixture. Otherwise, I left the recipe alone. The end result: gizzards that were better than some I've tasted, but I've tasted better, as well. So I'm toeing the middle of the line and going with three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
The gizzards were good except I put them in egg before I put the flour on, it makes the flour stick better. Also, I deep fried them. Faster cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bronwyn Sproull

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Me and my boyfreind made this to the tee and it tasted bad. The flour didn't stick and the gizzards had no taste to them. wouldn't recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I've been making chicken gizzards like this for years. One thing I do differently is to boil them for about an hour, and season the water with salt/pepper/garlic powder. It makes them tasty, and tender. Great recipe though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Good recipe. I did have one problem tho. The breading would not stay on the chicken :( I was so mad, but still ate them. Any tips on preventing this? But all-in-all a good recipe, maybe it was just me with the breading problem. Thanks, Tyler
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Par-boiling the gizzards really defeated the whole purpose. YOu need to marinade gizzards overnight in either buttermilk, sour cream or yogurt so the toughness is broken down naturally and absorbs the tangyness of the marinade. Add a couple dashes hotsauce to the marinade and we're talking YUM! Plus the marinade helps the flour coating stick better and become puffier. Also add some pepper, a touch of cayenne and msg to the flour (I know everyone is anti-msg, but it really is needed to get the right flavor here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chaplinj

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

See how to make crispy fried chicken that’s lighter with less fat!

Chicken Fried Chicken

Have the kids help you make this tasty fried chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States