Fried Chicken Chunks (Chicharrones De Pollo) Dominican Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I used the seasonings to a T and marinated for 24 hours. Then, in an attempt to make this healthier, I grilled them instead of the flour and frying them. Not exactly chicharrones anymore, but the flavor was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I made this recipe last night for my 3 roommates and they loved it! It was great! Next time i make it i might use a little less rum but it was delicious nonetheless!! I made white rice with it and boiled it in chicken broth instead of water....added a lot of flavor! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracie Borrero
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This is my own recipe and I do want to say that the reason why I posted this was because of all the compliments I got after making this for many people. I would definitely say this is a good chicken recipe to serve when you have alot of people who are going to eat. Its a good finger food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracie Borrero

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I loved this. This is really authentic. I am Dominican, so I know. I did this for my american in laws and they loved it. My husband likes it too and helps me cook it at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAGIORGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Really good stuff. A different twist on fried chicken. I'm new to this type of cooking, but really liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eccentrinx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This recipe was SO good, thanks so much for sharing! I only had time to marinate it for about 1.5 hours, it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
My family gobbled this up - including my boyfriend who is Dominican and normally hates fried chicken. I followed the recipe exactly (except I was out of adobo so used garlic salt instead). Next time I'll probably add some seasoning to the breading and marinate the chicken for longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
The 1/2 cup minced garlic made me doubtful! But I made it because this was a food I enjoyed in Dominican Republic - great beach food, & great for a late night snack on the "Malecon" (main road along the ocean)! I followed it exactly except I made up a version of the Goya Sazon seasoning based on its label's ingredients. (I love Goya's products, but their Sazon is mostly MSG, salt & artificial colorants!!) I WILL make it again, next time with Sazon, & I WILL update this review with the results ~ & hopefully give it more stars. (To those concerned about the rum in this, know that recipes having alcohol which are then cooked means the alcohol will evaporate.) UPDATE: I made this a 2nd time, exactly as written, using Goya's Sazon this time & Daisy Martinez' Dry Adobo seasoning blend (from another site) - except I did let it marinate about 20 hours. The 2-inch chunks were fried at 300 F for 3 minutes. When eaten freshly hot, it was steamy & the rum's flavor was obvious, but the garlic was not overwhelming. We did prefer it at room temperature. It is very tasty in its own right, but tasted nothing at all like all the Chicharrones de Pollo I had in Dominican Rep. The only similarity was the fried flour coating, but I remember a thicker & seasoned coating, so try some chunks double dipped in seasoned flour. Even though Dom. Rep. is a rum producer, I know they don't use rum in the Chicharrones' marinade. I'll still give this 4-1/2 stars, as it was very tasty in its own right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Great recipe! My Husband is Dominican and he said that it reminded him of DR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I made this tonight & it was absolutely DELISH! just like being in the DR!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States