Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was our side dish for supper tonight. I am not a huge "pepper" fan and should have known better than to use a whole teaspoon in this recipe. I will make it again though, we loved it despite the fact of it having too much pepper. I will probably add more bacon next time also. Very tasty. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinacook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muir, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westphalia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This is such a typical Southern side dish (or used to be), but I'm afraid I've lost my taste for grease. I knew that the directions didn't call for draining the grease, so I'm not going to knock off stars for something I don't care for anymore. (To think, we used to cook all vegetables in bacon grease!) It did have a good flavor otherwise. Since I am salt sensitive, I added salt to my tasting. I might cook this again, but play with draining the grease and adding just a little chicken broth or water to wilt the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Loved it...so quick and easy,too! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Jackson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tra
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Very yummy!! I followed the recipe plus I added a half of a bell green pepper sliced thinly. I always make it boiled with smoke turkey wings. Wanted to try this one based of the reviews. Very satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Love this! I've made it three times now. The only thing I've changed was not to add any salt. For us, the salt in the bacon is enough. It's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
All I have to say is WOW was this SALTY!!! I added a raw potato and it took out most of the salt. That aside WOW IT WAS GOOD!!!! I have an extremely picky husband and he liked it. I added a little white wine right before I added the cabbage and some cayenne pepper...just a hint. I will make this again with less salt :) thank you Kathi for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Loved this recipe! I was looking for something different to take to Thanksgiving that had ingredients my family would enjoy, and this was a BIG hit. I did drain off about half the fat and also added the bacon back in at the end, so it wouldn't get rubbery. Can't praise this enough! I have already had to promise to bring it every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABBA21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I love this recipe! It was so yummy! It was so easy to make, very simple. I added a little Cayanne pepper because I love spicy foods. It was so good that I was requested to make it again the following weekend! We even had it as a main dish the second time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I make this to go with breaded pork chops just like my mother did when I was a kid. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raevynsfire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This recipe is delicious. I used minimal salt. All else the same. My whole family devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States