Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
OMG! OMG! OMG! I could NOT stop eating out of the pot!!! Enough said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJCRIMBLES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Opelika, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Delicious! I used only 1 tsp of salt, though, and added 1/2 tsp of thyme. I then followed the rest of the recipe completely, and it tasted fantastic! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This did not taste as good as I remembered it as a kid. Maybe it's because I used turkey bacon instead of real bacon. Next time I'll try it with real bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Hubby is the fried cabbage person and liked it. To me the flavors were great but the texture way too mushy for my taste. I would have preferred to eat it w/o covering for the last 30. And I also would wait to add the cooked bacon until right before serving - I prefer my veggies n bacon crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heatherly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This was VERY good! I love the smokiness from the bacon. This dish has a nice sweet/savory balance. I made it as written except I added some grated parmesan cheese and served this over egg noodles as a main dish. I can't wait to have the leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This turned out really good even though I'm not a huge fan of cabbage. My husband and 18-month-old son gobbled it up. I halved the salt, left out the onion powder (I didn't have any) and added half a pound of sliced mushrooms while I was sauteing the onions and garlic; when I make it again I'll try it with the onion powder and I might use a larger head of cabbage because it cooks down a ton. I served it with maple mashed sweet potatoes and a roast chicken made with smoked paprika and herbs. Delicious combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pattymedic
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Pretty yummy and really easy to make. Made it with red cabbage and added a commercially prepared balsamic syrup for a little zing, mixed it all with some farmer's sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This has become a side-dish we use a couple of times a month. We're on a special diet that is low-carb but fat is okay, so we're eating yummy food AND losing weight! I will sometimes make a double batch if we have people over or want lots of yummy leftovers. I always thought I hated cabbage until eating it this way. We have a supplier up here called Cash & Carry where we get 5lb bags of shredded red cabbage to making it couldn't be easier (unless I could get pre-sliced sweet onions from the same place). I usually beef up the garlic considerably, and we always add a pinch or two of fennel seeds to make the cabbage a little less gassy. Thanks again - fantastic recipe and I'm a fussy cook and fussy eater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I love this recipe! I make this all the time but had never added bacon to it. I used real bacon bits since I refuse to spatter my kitchen with grease, it was delicious! I cooked the bacon bits with olive oil and the onion, fresh garlic and some chopped cilantro, I added the cabbage, which I cheated on and bought a big 3 pound bag of shredded cole slaw mix from Sam's, this way it's much more colorful and saves me some work, seasoned it to taste and tossed it with some whole wheat pasta. Voila, dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
it was just ok, for some reason it tasted bitter to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States