Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
My family loved this dish. I modified it slightly by adding kielbasa and about 1/2 teaspoon of salt only because a tablespoon seemed like way too much for our liking. You can always add more, but can't take it out if it's too salty. It made enough for two adults and two children, but no leftovers. I might double the recipe next time just so we can have some for lunches. Great dish! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Delicious as is, however I added the spin of 3 large handfuls of pre cooked egg noodles & a Dolly Partonesque" grilled chicken breast, cut into bite size pieces. I also added 1/2 tap of "slap ya mama" season for some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This is just awesome. I add cooked noodles to this also. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nan5623

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I just made this for dinner and we loved it! I was looking for something different to do with my cabbage an found this recipe and liked the way it sounded. Even my daughter who won't eat cabbage unless it's coleslaw liked it. I made it as written, no changes. I will be making this again soon!Thanks for the recipe Kathi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
AMAZING! I added kielbasa, zucchini and extra bacon because I was low on cabbage (about half a head) and this is a new favorite! Kids are eating it, husband eats it. its all good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erick Sarah Marshall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was our side dish for supper tonight. I am not a huge "pepper" fan and should have known better than to use a whole teaspoon in this recipe. I will make it again though, we loved it despite the fact of it having too much pepper. I will probably add more bacon next time also. Very tasty. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinacook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muir, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westphalia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This is such a typical Southern side dish (or used to be), but I'm afraid I've lost my taste for grease. I knew that the directions didn't call for draining the grease, so I'm not going to knock off stars for something I don't care for anymore. (To think, we used to cook all vegetables in bacon grease!) It did have a good flavor otherwise. Since I am salt sensitive, I added salt to my tasting. I might cook this again, but play with draining the grease and adding just a little chicken broth or water to wilt the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Loved it...so quick and easy,too! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Jackson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tra
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Very yummy!! I followed the recipe plus I added a half of a bell green pepper sliced thinly. I always make it boiled with smoke turkey wings. Wanted to try this one based of the reviews. Very satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Love this! I've made it three times now. The only thing I've changed was not to add any salt. For us, the salt in the bacon is enough. It's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States