Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I really liked this recipe. I put in kielbasa sausage and that made it an entire main dish!! Great flavor and didn't take any time to fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This had so much bacon fat in it. I would do it again and add some olive oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This was so good! Reminded me of the fried cabbage that my Hungarian grandma would make, although she cooked it down quite a bit more and then mixed it with cooked noodles - yum. For those that rated it low because of saltiness, the recipe did say "or to taste". When I make a recipe I rarely use as much salt as the recipe states. I waited until the cabbage was almost cooked through before even adding any salt. Or another way is to salt the raw cabbage and let sit for awhile, rinse and squeeze until almost dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Finally! A recipe for cabbage that the whole family likes. :D We have several "tender tongues", so in the future I will adjust the pepper down a bit for our tastes. Still, highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Made this last night. There are no leftovers!!! YUMMY........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daytiana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I've been eating cooked/steamed cabbage all my life & NEVER has it tasted this good!! All the spices & carmelizing the onions..over the top! I've since used ham or sausage (out of bacon)with this recipe & it's stiil wonderful. I do not cook the cabbage for as long as instructed as I don't care for super-wilted cabbage. A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HONEYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carpinteria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Delicious. I followed the recipe exactly as written, except that I took the bacon out when it was crisp, chopped it, and added it back in for the last 10 minutes of simmer. Next time I'll probably use only a teaspoon (or less) of salt, as the bacon adds plenty on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I like salty foods, but holy cow, this was salty! It was an excellent dish, but I would only use 1 tsp. of salt next time (and there will definitely be a next time!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mancelona, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
A. Mazing. Perfect side dish, though I have to admit I've been eating it all by itself (and cold!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States