Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
All I have to say is WOW was this SALTY!!! I added a raw potato and it took out most of the salt. That aside WOW IT WAS GOOD!!!! I have an extremely picky husband and he liked it. I added a little white wine right before I added the cabbage and some cayenne pepper...just a hint. I will make this again with less salt :) thank you Kathi for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Loved this recipe! I was looking for something different to take to Thanksgiving that had ingredients my family would enjoy, and this was a BIG hit. I did drain off about half the fat and also added the bacon back in at the end, so it wouldn't get rubbery. Can't praise this enough! I have already had to promise to bring it every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABBA21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I love this recipe! It was so yummy! It was so easy to make, very simple. I added a little Cayanne pepper because I love spicy foods. It was so good that I was requested to make it again the following weekend! We even had it as a main dish the second time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I make this to go with breaded pork chops just like my mother did when I was a kid. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raevynsfire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This recipe is delicious. I used minimal salt. All else the same. My whole family devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Thanks for this simple and tasty recipe. I added a chopped red bell pepper and served it as a side with fried shrimp. Next time I might drain half the bacon fat from the pot before adding the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Aikens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This was delicious, I used sausage instead of bacon and added just a splash of chicken broth, a half a head of cabbage was plenty, and we have hardly any leftovers. Making again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I grew up eating this and it is very good, the only difference, I have never added paprika so I am definitely going to try that with the head of cabbage I have in the refrigerator. Only thing extra I add is some grated carrot, just enough to add a little color. Looks great and tastes even better....In a pinch, if I don't have sliced bacon I will use Hormel bacon bits instead because I always have them on hand and saute the onions and garlic in olive oil, its good but nothing beats the taste of real sliced bacon and bacon grease for flavor but when you are hungry for fried cabbage it works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
DELICIOUS! I added kielbasa but everything else was the same! We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbi Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Just made this tonite with Corned Beef, followed the recipe to a T. I put the Corned Beef in the crockpot and made this on the stove. Freakin' AMAZING! Even my kid who doesn't care a ton for cabbage just came back for seconds. Thanks for sharing this recipe, will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Mama Kaboose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Campbell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States