Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Good thing I was only cooking for my boyfriend and I - I kept licking the spatula while I was cooking! I just could not wait for it to finish. The smell, the taste, the texture... it was all perfect! Thanks for a great recipe. I will definitely be busting this one out to impress my German family. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rinny182

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
It was bland. Researched some other recipes and added a couple pinches of sugar, then a couple dashes of vinegar. Still bland. I would try it again but add some cayenne pepper or kielbasa next time for some more kick. Or... maybe some applewood smoked or black pepper bacon?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heide

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Great recipe! Went wonderful with our corn beef! Made as directed, but I only had three slices of thick cut pepper bacon and it was enough to give it a great flavor anyway. We liked that fact that this recipe can also be used with the Paleo or Primal Blue Print way of eating. Thank you Kathi for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I have made this 3 times now in a months time. My husband who normally would not try cabbage LOVED this! I had left over wild rice and grilled chicken and I mixed all three together. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I really liked this recipe. Usually I don't use garlic powder or onion powder, but in this case I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Pretty good and will make again with the following changes- no more than 1 tsp salt and cut the pepper in half. I left the bacon out- cut calories- just sprayed the pan with Pam first. Around 8 calories in every 1 ounce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Steve an Kyle loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This is very good - - took me back to the old days. Made it as written with ingredients stated. The only change in cooking is I didn't add the garlic until the onions were almost done (nothing worse burnt, bitter garlic). Next time I will remove some of the bacon drippings before proceeding with the rest of the recipe. Very, very good and will be and making again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Over-the-top delicious! I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
My family loved this dish. I modified it slightly by adding kielbasa and about 1/2 teaspoon of salt only because a tablespoon seemed like way too much for our liking. You can always add more, but can't take it out if it's too salty. It made enough for two adults and two children, but no leftovers. I might double the recipe next time just so we can have some for lunches. Great dish! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States