Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Made this as written and didn't care for it. I"ll make my regular steamed cabbage from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I love this recipe!! I used the bacon ends I had in the freezer and it worked very well. The salt is apparently and issue. I used just a teaspoon of salt this time and would probably omit it all together next time. (I cannot believe the original recipe called for 3 Tablespoons!!) I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I'm with Naples34102 on this one! I, too, was raised up eating cabbage this way and this is my standard way of preparing it for my family...also minus the onion/garlic powders, paprika and caramelizing of the onion. It's tasty w/o doing or adding all that. A really easy and great way to fix cabbage. And, to simplify it even further try stir-frying the chopped cabbage in a little butter and salt/pepper to taste. That's good too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Wow, wow, wow!!! This recipe is unbelievable! I cut the salt in half--at least, added 3 cloves of garlic, and added just a bit of crushed pepper flakes. This is a recipe I will make again, and again, and again. I am on a low carb diet, and cabbage is a low carb veggie--so this recipe fits quite well into a low carb diet. Thanks for sharing it! Note added: Using fresh garlic is a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camelknees33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Made this recipe tonight as a side dish and it was wonderful! Didn't change a thing and will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
OMG! OMG! OMG! I could NOT stop eating out of the pot!!! Enough said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJCRIMBLES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Opelika, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Delicious! I used only 1 tsp of salt, though, and added 1/2 tsp of thyme. I then followed the rest of the recipe completely, and it tasted fantastic! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Richards

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This did not taste as good as I remembered it as a kid. Maybe it's because I used turkey bacon instead of real bacon. Next time I'll try it with real bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Hubby is the fried cabbage person and liked it. To me the flavors were great but the texture way too mushy for my taste. I would have preferred to eat it w/o covering for the last 30. And I also would wait to add the cooked bacon until right before serving - I prefer my veggies n bacon crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Prescott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This was VERY good! I love the smokiness from the bacon. This dish has a nice sweet/savory balance. I made it as written except I added some grated parmesan cheese and served this over egg noodles as a main dish. I can't wait to have the leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States