Fried Cabbage and Egg Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was delicious! I added some ham, white pepper, and garlic. Everyone was pleased, even my picky 6 year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I try to eat lower sodium due to high blood pressure and when you use no salt butter and don't add any extra salt, this is a very low sodium dish that is also very flavorful. I was surprised that I liked this so much. I never would have thought of this combination of foods. This was very simple and fast. I added an onion and some garlic and I cooked the cabbage for about 20 minutes like others suggested. I used 3 Tbs. butter and 2-3 Tbs olive oil to cut back on the saturated fat. This change along with using whole wheat egg noodles in place of regular helps me feel better about eating this dish. Next time I will add more sweet onions and cabbage and less noodles. Thanks for the recipe Judi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Don't make this if you aren't absolutely crazy about cooked cabbage. I had my hopes too high for my kids liking this. Fine if you for sure like cooked cabbage, doubt we will make this again though. Did make as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Thanks so much for this recipe. I grew up next door to a woman from Austria and I loved when made this. Brings back good memories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Moriches, New York, USA
Living In: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This is really yummy!! I remember my Oma feeding me stuff like this when I was a little kid. It's like comfort food. It may seem a little bland to some people, but I think it's delicious just the way it is! My fiance was concerned that it didn't have any meat in it, so I sliced up a summer sausage in there. He really liked it! I would use Kielbasa if I had it on hand. Anyways, thanks for a great recipe! Will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nidda

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
my 3 yr old even are this! we had made the egg noodles to go with dinner tonight ( my nannys german potato soup.) and it made alot but i had noticed this recipe on the side and had cabbage to use up it turned out great next time might fry couple piece of bacon and crumble and use the grease instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmy schmidt
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Love it! Ate this since I was a kid. I now use the egg noodle recipe from this site with it or frozen gnocchi. Really good and a cheap, satisfying meal. Great for pot lucks too. We love it when the cabbage turns brownish..mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This recipe is so simple, but perfectly yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minooka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This was great and super simple! We cook organically and the organic butter with the flavorful organic cabbage was quite tasty. I did not have egg noodles so I used what I had on hand and the kids ate every bite. My husband who is Spanish and does not like most of my German Heritage food asked for more. I enjoyed the filling sensation and warmth on a cold wintering wet day. I think next time I will add some onions and garlic for a new taste sensation. (One way to get your kids to eat cabbage and greens!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wren Song Heart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garrett, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This is definately comfort food at it's best! This comes together super quick and is great for those 'what should I make for dinner' days. Do not hesitate to try this recipe. If you love cabbage and pasta then you will not be disappointed! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Egg Noodles

Freshly made egg noodles jazz up all your favorite pasta dishes.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States